Thursday, June 5, 2008

Muscles?

Okay, just a follow up before I forget to update the whole P90X workout stuff.

Jason has to shoot on the Range until the end of next week.  The weather has turned SUPER hot, and I honestly think he'll sweat plenty for the day withOUT starting up a new kick-yer-butt workout.  With it being 6 days of different workouts, followed by a day of rest, it pretty safe to say that a Monday will be the official kick off.

As for me, my poor achy biceps were starting to feel a little better by Wednesday (the curls till "failure" were done Monday night).  In my infinite wisdom, I figured I'd do a different walking workout that was only 35 minutes and would get my heart to wake up and work with my lungs for awhile.  It's a dvd that essentially marches you for the equivalent of walking for 2 miles, and keeps me at a steady pace (in my air conditioned, private home).  I usually carry the 2lb. weights when doing these.  WELL, what I didn't know what that this was a walk and FIRM, as in arms.  It felt good to get my arms moving, and when all was said and done I felt awesome.  Yeah - till about 2 hours had past, and then my biceps turned into hard lumpy rocks under my skin that refused to stretch out.  To say that I've been sore and uncomfortable since then is SUCH an understatement.  Putting away stock at work today was really interesting seeing I could barely lift anything, and could NOT fully straighten either arm.  If I hunched over a little I would have looked like and ape the way I kept my arms bent loosely swinging at my sides as I walked around.

I had a saving grace today though.  Randy ACTUALLY heard me, and ACTED upon what he heard.  Today was a free day off of school because he didn't have to take any exams.  I told him he could NOT live on the computer OR with the t.v. on unless he was getting something accomplished while watching the t.v.

OH the joy when I got home from work and he had straightened up the kitchen, living room, AND folded ALL 3 baskets of clean laundry that had been put into the family room.  Since I couldn't move, I had gotten the younger kids to keep rotating laundry so at least it would all get washed.  Too bad noone was motivated to DO something with all that clean stuff.  Randy did, so that was AWSOME!  He definitely got to enjoy some free time doing his own thing, and it took some of the pressure off of me to have to do SO much tomorrow.  (we've got a good friend transferring here and she's staying with us for a day in hopes of finding an apartment ahead of her actual move.  It's always good to have nearly-family come to visit.)

So -  I KNOW that I have muscles, and apparently I don't listen to them very well.

I know that Jason is eager to get on with this new workout, but my great timing got these dvd's into the house JUST in time for the range, which means not a whole lot of ANYTHING for Jason except shooting at the range for the duration and driving back and forth.

I know that when Randy REALLY wants something AND the little kids aren't around, he CAN put forth a great effort and get things in the house accomplished.  I also know that he suddenly got it today - he thanked me for getting him a yearbook even though he knew we did NOT have the money for it, and I refused to let him miss out on this, so sacrificed other things to make it happen.  He was very thankful to know he'll have this as we move around, as a great way to hold on to this great year of friends.   He gets it!  My teenager gets it.  (it's just a well kept secret 98% of the time ;o)

I'm off to re-apply the icy hot, take some more aleve, and head off to bed.  Maybe the other kids'll show that they get it so I can post more kid entries (this requires a bit less trashing the house and being feisty little trouble makers...ahh, you know it's time for summer...the beasts are restless!!)

Tuesday, June 3, 2008

P90X


WOW!

Just had to start of with a big, exhausting - WOW!


(I reallly need to add the thing that'll let me use LOTS of fonts. This doens't do feelings justice for this entry.)


I'm sure many, if not all of you, have seen the commercials for the work out videos "P90X".
Since Jason is in the military, he works out ALL the time. The problem is that his body hit a plateau many years back, and running (among his many other work out routines) doesn't do for him what it used to. So after watching this infomercial about a thousand times since it's come out, I went to the website and read up more, and found out the cost (owie). Jason and I discussed it, and I was determined to get this for him because it is EXACTLY what he's been saying he needed for SOOOoooo long. This is something to shake up his body, give it something new to focus on with how he works his muscles. Jason no longer has to PT with all the other guys in his shop (all 6 of them), so he can actually do this at home in the morning or evening.


The box showed up a few days ago, and we've been reading thru it here and there, and last night got the ball rolling.

You start off by taking pictures of yourself from various angles, which you'll do again after 1, 2, and 3 months. We know this is a great way to track progress, but does anyone EVER enjoy taking their "starter" pictures??

Anyway, the next thing you do, is take their FIT TEST to see what level you are at. If you don't meet the minimum, it suggests you start with another program - you aren't ready for this one. Well, I got this insane idea that even though I'm horribly, terribly out of shape and have only just started trying to get in some exercise a couple days a week (more if I can get it in there...since I don't PUT it there yet)...I figured I'd try this whole crazy work out with Jason. Let's be partners and see how it effects us both.

WHAT?!

Okay, so we're getting ready for the FIT TEST, and all the kids want to do this too. If it weren't 8:30 at night I probably would have let them, but only Robbie did most of it with us. Jason easily fit the "minimum" requirements, and is looking forward to getting into this. The hardest part was the pull ups --- he had to have 7 moles removed on Friday, all around his underarms, so the stitches are still there and it was NOT fun for him to attempt pull ups. (if there's ever a next time, he's going to skip that all together).

One of the tests is to do ALL the bicep curls you can "to failure". I didn't exactly want to drop a weight on my foot, so when I hit the point I literally could NOT get the weights all the way up, I wisely put them down. Today, however, my arms do NOT want to hang straight at my side. Achy arm muscles....great way to get ready for a day of cleaning. Hey, at least I know my arms are THERE. :o)!! oh boy are they there.

After Jason went to bed I watched the Yoga workout. Other then a few moves, I think the KIDS should do this one together with us. Jason, Randy, Curtis and Robbie are NOT flexible. It drives the kids nuts that I can, without stretching, touch my toes/the floor without bending my knees. Hey, for all the things I can't do, let me enjoy what I CAN. So this summer, they just might try this one and see if it helps out.


Jason is REALLY excited for this new work out. We don't' have all the weights needed, but I did have exercise bands - great fill in and easier to move or take with you when traveling. I say I DID because Jason went to do some curls to test the resistance, and -SNAP- the band broke right where it connected at the handle and whipped Jason in the foot. OUCH!!!! We found a new set at Walmart that will work for now, then I'll probably break and buy the more expensive ones from the company.

I know how totally frustrated Jason has been, watching what he eats, changing how he works out, and ALL of this he's been doing for years. He loves being a Marine...all but his struggle to stay in his weight standard (his weight's as stubborn as he is...it's just the last little bit that is the toughest to get thru.) Adding to that Jason is working thru his PTSD, and taking a bunch of meds that require a full night of sleep, and doesn't always leave him with alot of motivation some days. So we are really hoping that this new routine will get him some fast starting results so that will motivate him to keep going and get what he's always wanted...rid of that last little bit of weight and the 28" waist he used to have.

(for me, I'm just hoping this isn't going to kill me to jump into this insanity.)


Some day, when we're all skinny and sexy lookin' we may post pictures, because we'll be SO darned happy with how far we've come. Until then, uh, yeah -- NO. I will, however, do my best to share updates on what we think of this program. Let you know if we're sticking to it, and how it's working for us, and how many times the kids join in ... :o) ...he he he. Okay, I might sneak in some pictures from those workouts, because our kids LOVE to exercise, and I hope that that NEVER leaves them.


P90X...Fit Test down, many - many - many workouts to go.......

A day off of work, but the WORK never ends...

All righty, the kids are off at school, Jason's off at work, and I actually have 2 days of work off in a row! Every single time I do I attempt to get something in this poor house cleaned up, sorted thru, unpacked, or organized. If I were to be honest, I probably only get about a 10th finished that I plan to in 2 days, and very often the avalanche hits soon after and what I had all set and taken care of just comes rushing back. I try to keep in mind that if I'd never gotten it properly cleaned up before, then it (the mess) would be even MORE frightening now.

So, keeping caught up on laundry seems to be kicking my butt in huge ways. This is what happens when your kids all decide that their way of "cleaning up" is easier then Mom's. The clothes don't actually all make it IN to the drawers, or stay ON their hangers. Then they get shoved to the side, and the next call to "Clean your room!" results in another huge pile of laundry in ADDITION to what we all ACTUALLY wore that week. This is also what happens when 10 months after moving I STILL have not established a new chore chart for this home. My kids DO work well with check lists. (most days). I just seem to have lost complete use of my brain many days when trying to set up or organize, well, pretty much anything. I do have really good strong moments of clear thought, but it used to be a stead way of thinking, not glimmers of hope here and there. Ahhh, I can't wait for my 2 weeks off and actually going AWAY.

Until then....laundry is calling, my room needs SERIOUS attention (I know this one half of the room has carpet matching the rest of the room, I just haven't seen it under the boxes I've been putting off unpacking or under the laundry baskets of me and Jason's clothes I still haven't put away from last weeks laundry. Can I take a nap first?? The house is actually quiet and ALL to myself. In a very short period of time, school will be out for the summer, and I won't get this again. Hmmm, sounds tempting to just crawl into bed - doesn't it?