Friday, May 30, 2008

The start of the school year Wrap Up

(I think I need to start my own personal page for all the things I could blather on about, but I am determined to attempt to use this as a family update site for what's going on with US. As in the whole darned family.)

As this school year is very quickly approaching an end, we're all VERY much so looking forward to it's completion. Our adjustment to getting back stateside led to a very hurried decision on what house to rent, and a tough adjustment to the differences in this particular school district. We have had some great moments, and some really gigantic headaches. We've made it thru them all, and believe we saved Curtis from the monster teacher in the nick of time so he can actually progress to 8th grade. It's not for a lack of smarts she would have done her best to keep him back. It took over 3 terms to get him OUT of her class, just enough that he's actually getting the chance to ENJOY himself at school. That is ALWAYS a good thing. Especially in Middle School.

The end of the school year includes things like preparing for the kids needs in school in the upcoming school year, and also the end of the Seminary Year. For those of you that have kids in Seminary - but it's part of their school day - you may not grasp our perspective on this.
Randy has been enjoying his first year of early morning Seminary. His teacher is thee most wonderful woman (oldest of I think she said 12 kids, and married to the coolest Samoan man.) She has patients, kindness, love for the kids, and helps them gain a greater understanding of the scriptures and the importance of knowing them and using them in their lives.
I, myself, never did passed a year of seminary due to lack of attendance.
For the first half of this year, Randy & I... (I'm the daily driver due to the fact dad is off to work before 5am) ... we managed to ensure a perfect attendance. I blew it for him though when I got seriously ill and just couldn't manage to get up, let alone drive anywhere. Even so, once we got back into the routine, I decided Randy would have to set his alarm from now on because he needed to do this on his own (instead of Mom made me go) so he'd gain a greater appreciation for the importance of this.
Funny - I thought it would be a big struggle for awhile. Nope. Except for a few days, he has been great about being up and ready on time.
Randy's alot like I was in the sense that neither of us is great at memorizing the scripture mastery's, but still enjoyed the attempt all year.

A couple days ago, as I was driving Randy, I said, "So, it's the last week of Seminary and you haven't said a word. Aren't you excited to get the summer off?" His answer was a wonderful surprise for me. "I know the sleeping in and all will be nice, but I like seminary and how it makes me feel. I want the summer off of school, but not seminary. So yeah, but no. I'll just enjoy these last few days."
We just happened to pull up to Sister "I"s house at that time, and I just reminded him that if he keeps up his scripture reading, and maybe we can all work over the summer on the scripture mastery's, then maybe that'll help. He wants to do that, but still....
...As I drove Randy this morning, he still had not a drop of excitement that today was the last day of Seminary. WOW! Did I ever personally know a 15 year old boy that did NOT look at all forward to the end of Seminary? Now I do, and I can't believe he's MINE! It's an awesome feeling.

Changing kids - - - - -

Craigan is looking forward to next year. When we arrived noone really listened to us as we expressed that Craigan learns REALLY fast. This kids freakin' soaks information in like a dry sponge. With some of the learning delays Randy struggled with, and Curtis' ADHD, and Robbie's attitude of she'll do it when it suits her...THIS is quite a switch.
So Craigan is thrilled because the school finally finished their observations and testing, and this little man of mine will finally be in classes that work at HIS learning level. Here's the thing - last year Craigan was in a 1st and 2nd grade combined class. We'd done that in hopes of him being able to get to participate in the stuff he'd blasted thru in Kindergarten. Well, that's not how the class worked. He only did first grade work, but could "listen and observe" the 2nd grade stuff, but not do the work. (dumb). He arrived here, and this 2nd grade class was working on handouts he'd done LAST year as a FIRST grader, half way thru the year. B-O-R-I-N-G. So the teacher and I agreed she'd try to give him 'more challenging work'. We just thought this particular school system was way behind what we had just come from (Which it IS!) but when even that factor was put to rest, Craigan still loved to learn, work, and soak in ALL he could.

He is looking extremely forward to the "tougher" classes, and we've already had the initial 'no gloating' talk. I wouldn't let kids insult those that couldn't learn as fast, so I wont' let him flaunt his learning level. Our family rule with report cards has always been -- you must do YOUR personal best. If you get all C's, but you worked your hardest, then great! If you get all B+'s, but skated thru and didn't study or hand in work and had the potential for an "A", then you're in for some extra "attention".

----- As for Zyzax and the end of the school year - PLEASE let this poor kid get a teacher that can handle his energy next year! Much as I like his kindergarten teacher, he just got to be too much of a handful. We had a meeting a few weeks ago....and she laughed. When he's squirming, or doing something he's not supposed to when the kids are supposed to be quietly listening, if she asks the class a question - he'll have the answer first, and sometimes word for word. Hmmm, he's BORED. Learned it the first few time you taught it and doesn't want to listen to this 4 more times. Ahhh, Patriarch Irish wasn't kidding when he told me I'd have "lively, lively children."

SO ----- even though the big kids'll be holding down the fort on the few days I work, those tend to be the days they all actually do what's on whatever list we leave for them. We are ALL looking forward to the summer break! They get to read the books THEY choose. They get more time on the computer (thankfully most games are the educational sites the school recommends.) and I will desperately attempt to use those early morning hours when the kids are sleeping "IN" to get in some workout time. I've seriously turned into a blob since leaving Okinawa. We sold the exercise bike, and I don't like getting out to walk like i did there. 8 Months of that was NOT smart.

Here's to a great summer, and hoping for teachers that LOVE to teach and make it FUN for my energetic bunch once they get back to school. As excited as they all are for the summer, and our VACATION - YEAH!! -- They thankfully all look forward to getting back to school for the new year even though this one isn't even done yet.

Have a GREAT day everyone!

Wednesday, May 14, 2008

"Why do you sew?"

Because I work in a Fabric Store AND the economy is super slow AND sewing is a dying art form (for reasons I clearly see and will get into another day, if I remember) . . .
. . . Very often customers will comment about all the fabric stores that have closed, and how it is no longer a fact that people sew to save money on clothing.
Yes, it is true, with stores like Walmart, Target, and so on for a good dozen more.... as well as thrift stores in every community, and the great deals that Online shopping has to offer . . . sewing isn't as much a "necessity" as it once was. Nor is it necessary for people to sew to have things that look 'cool' or even unique, thanks to said online shopping and easy access to "the little shops" worldwide.

So people often ask me, Especially as a working mother of FIVE children, "Why do you sew?"

They are amazed that I'm not yet fascinated with quilting.
I'm slowly getting into it, but I'm way to linear a thinker. You need to be more "free" with your thoughts for quilting to be fully enjoyed (in my opinion anyway.)

**I love to sew, mostly clothing. Jason and the kids all tend to really enjoy what I sew for them. I love to make simple baby blankets which I have dubbed my 'cheater quilts' (it used to be the closest thing to real "quilting" I did, until recently.)
**I love that my family and others I have sewn for enjoy what I have made for them.
**I love that what I make isn't going to fall apart the first time it's washed, and the seems won't fray either.
**I love creating something from a piece of fabric and a pattern.
**I love that my Mom and my Nana rubbed off on me and I've been able to sew for what feels like nearly my entire life. (age 10 or 12? I bought my first machine from a parent aged friend of a friend). I'll never have the skills my Nana had, but I hope I can at least do a good job carrying on a love for the craft and skill that she passed to my Mom, and they passed on to me.

Now, one of the main reasons we, collectively, as a family, love that I sew, is that it means they have something that NOONE else has. This became MUCH more important to them after our time in Okinawa. When you've got a whole slew of Americans all shopping at the Exchange (which only gets a limited size selection to choose from), you tend to walk into the first day of school with the same shirt on as at LEAST 10 other kids in your grade. (sadly my umph to really sew ALOT came after we arrived here and I was going bonkers and needed to work on projects with short term completion dates...cross-stitch doesn't offer immediate satisfaction.)

-----HOWEVER ----- one of the funniest stories I have told the kids over the years is that even when you sew, there is NO guarantee someone else you know doesn't have the SAME idea for the very same fabric they saw and loved at the store.

Case in point:

When growing up in Massachusetts, we lived not too far from Fabric Mill Outlet stores. Talk about HEAVEN (were can I find those today?????).

Anyway, my Mom was always wishing I'd be a little more willing to wear floral prints, and when I was 17-ish she found this really cute black fabric with flower-like stuff on it. I loved it. She made me a comfy sun dress which I then wore to church. Apparently, one of her close friends , and pretty much the only woman besides my Mom or Mother-in-law I viewed in that "Mom" category (in my efforts to not use last names with first or photos, I'll call her Mom2). Anyway, from what I remember, Mom2 saw the dress and told my Mom that SHE had the exact same fabric, and had made HerSELF a dress nearly the same as mine. I guess they were worried I'd be put off at the thought of wearing mine after seeing a "Mom" in it. (I guess if it was something where I saw her and thought either "ugh, now I look old in my dress." or "ugh, she's trying to look like a teenager." then maybe they would have been right.) But that was NOT the case.
Well, I love her; she looked great in her dress, and she loved it. I loved my dress, and thought I looked pretty good too.

SO, I always tell the kids, sew 'cause its fun, useful, and you can have something Unique, but it's not so bad when someone does the same Think of it this way: You BOTH had great taste :o)!!!

Well - - - After them hearing this story a few times over the 3 years in Okinawa, last week I was unpacking some boxes from storage, and came across THIS PHOTO: (LOVE IT!!)






They immediately said "Hey, that's you and the other Mom and the dresses you and Grandma both made!" "Twins". And they LOVE to keep it out now.

Trying to get "IN" to blogging...

I'm finding it sort of tough to remember to take time to actually WRITE something on OUR blog. I think it's mostly because I want this to be a blog for the FAMILY, not a place for ME. Eventually I think I'll have to expand so that I can have my own spot to ramble on or vent, or just share random thoughts.
I find it tough to blog because I want to keep my kids and their info safe, yet still share this with ALL of our friends. That's tough when so many people are easily distracted from reading when they are required to log on first. Besides, if that had been what all of you that inspired me to do this, had done, I never could have freely enjoyed YOUR blogs to know that this could actually be fun (not to mention letting me enjoy knowing how many of you have grown and acquired amazing spouses and families of your own. :o)

I want to change the page all the time, have each entry in a different font, but find too many limits. I'm thinking I need a computer class to refresh my dormant brain so I can liven things up without it needing a brain transplant and 6 hours in the middle of the night to get the darned photo to stay in the spot I want it to withOUT causing 6 extra rows of spaces to suddenly appear when I click "publish post".

I'm a very smart person, and in general, have always been fairly successful with computers (even long before PCs had windows...just ask my H.S. computer teacher.) But if there are a zillion ways to scrapbook on a computer, and each page can be different, then why do I need to search and test for hours to end up with ALL my titles in the same font and style? Maybe today I'm in a harsh and rigid mood, and later I'll want some relaxed loopy writing. Oh well, I'll sort this all out eventually - or give in to the simple look.........
NOPE!!
NOT POSSIBLE -- I can't do it -- I'm married to a Graphic Artist! Simple just will NOT due. *sigh* please give me patience to figure out a more "fun" way to do this before my brain oozes out my ear.

Sunday, May 11, 2008

It's a Wonderful Day to Re-Connect

*****To all the WOMEN that read this ****



You don't need to be a Mom to be honored and thought of today. I know SO many wonderful women that have blessed the lives of the people around them as sisters, aunts, friends, supporters, and SO many ways I can't put into words. Thanks to all of you, those of us who have our children to raise are able to do so in a MUCH better way, as better and stronger women, because of all that YOU do and the strength you offer us. I thank you for ALL you offer, and wish to YOU and Happy (just as good as) Mother's Day!!!



I haven't done well at ALL keeping in touch with SO many people that matter to me. Some it's been the 9 months since we left Okinawa, and for others it's been SO SO Much longer. Over the last few months I've been able to thoroughly enjoy catching up on the amazing lives of so many friends that meant SOOOO much to me when I was a teenager. My brother shared their blogs with me, and I've read so far back in my attempts to catch up. The Reeve, Oscarson, Ockey and Vick Families, and other "Hingham-its" or "Foxboro-ites" we all enjoyed going to church together with.




As I sat and tried to figure out what to say after not writing for our change of address; not writing for Christmas, and NOT wanting to wait anymore now that I'm finding myself less lost in a dark hole (this place does that too a person, especially after returning from overseas living). So I wrote an odd little poem and mailed it out to so many of those that I actually had addresses for.



Below you will see the poem I wrote. You will also see my sincere request for contact info. Should you be reading this, and want to keep in touch other then strictly thru blogging, Please feel free to email your information. There's always room in out book of "Those we love to know". :o)








When we moved I wrote cards
So you’d know where to find us
I needed to buy stamps
Arg - couldn’t find the Post Office.

Once I knew where to go
My brain wasn’t working
So there sat those cards
sadly hiding, not seeking.

Once I realized my goof-up
More then 2 months had past…
With Christmas to come, thought,
“I’ll write then, at last.”
When it came time to write
Our family letter
My challenge then seemed
Putting something together.

I worked and I tried
To sit and to think.
Then the more that I tried
Proved my brain on the blink.

I’ve been a bum and a slacker.
It’s sad but it’s true.
Now it’s time I step up
So I’m writing to you.

You’re all Wonderful Women
And a privilege to know.
With my poor little poem
I’m just trying to show

That I’m honored and thankful
For the friendships you’ve shared;
For the love that you’ve given
The time and the care.

I don’t want to waste
Yet another day
So I’ll wrap up this rhyme
Send these off on their way.

Before I must go
I just have to say
I love you, miss you and Wish you
Happy Mother’s Day !!!








(We had a lightning storm and tornado watch, so I've had the computer off most of the day. It's way past my bedtime and I really hope you all had a wonderful day today. I'll try to remember to post about mine later.

Lots of Love to ALL the Mom's out there, past, present, future, and just at heart till you too get to marvel in the joy and insanity == enjoy the good sleep you get for now ;o).



Wednesday, May 7, 2008

My Lil Friend

I just HAD to share this. Jason is taking and online course so he can "officially" show that he's had additional training in Photoshop. Okay, so he's been using this program forever and so far rolls his eyes at the stuff that he's got to do and the outline for the "how to" to accomplish the effect they're teaching.
This lesson they were given the option to create an additional composition.
THIS is what Jason created. . .
. . .with a little bit of help from our Zacky (and one of Jason's Spawn figures.)