(I think I need to start my own personal page for all the things I could blather on about, but I am determined to attempt to use this as a family update site for what's going on with US. As in the whole darned family.)
As this school year is very quickly approaching an end, we're all VERY much so looking forward to it's completion. Our adjustment to getting back stateside led to a very hurried decision on what house to rent, and a tough adjustment to the differences in this particular school district. We have had some great moments, and some really gigantic headaches. We've made it thru them all, and believe we saved Curtis from the monster teacher in the nick of time so he can actually progress to 8th grade. It's not for a lack of smarts she would have done her best to keep him back. It took over 3 terms to get him OUT of her class, just enough that he's actually getting the chance to ENJOY himself at school. That is ALWAYS a good thing. Especially in Middle School.
The end of the school year includes things like preparing for the kids needs in school in the upcoming school year, and also the end of the Seminary Year. For those of you that have kids in Seminary - but it's part of their school day - you may not grasp our perspective on this.
Randy has been enjoying his first year of early morning Seminary. His teacher is thee most wonderful woman (oldest of I think she said 12 kids, and married to the coolest Samoan man.) She has patients, kindness, love for the kids, and helps them gain a greater understanding of the scriptures and the importance of knowing them and using them in their lives.
I, myself, never did passed a year of seminary due to lack of attendance.
For the first half of this year, Randy & I... (I'm the daily driver due to the fact dad is off to work before 5am) ... we managed to ensure a perfect attendance. I blew it for him though when I got seriously ill and just couldn't manage to get up, let alone drive anywhere. Even so, once we got back into the routine, I decided Randy would have to set his alarm from now on because he needed to do this on his own (instead of Mom made me go) so he'd gain a greater appreciation for the importance of this.
Funny - I thought it would be a big struggle for awhile. Nope. Except for a few days, he has been great about being up and ready on time.
Randy's alot like I was in the sense that neither of us is great at memorizing the scripture mastery's, but still enjoyed the attempt all year.
A couple days ago, as I was driving Randy, I said, "So, it's the last week of Seminary and you haven't said a word. Aren't you excited to get the summer off?" His answer was a wonderful surprise for me. "I know the sleeping in and all will be nice, but I like seminary and how it makes me feel. I want the summer off of school, but not seminary. So yeah, but no. I'll just enjoy these last few days."
We just happened to pull up to Sister "I"s house at that time, and I just reminded him that if he keeps up his scripture reading, and maybe we can all work over the summer on the scripture mastery's, then maybe that'll help. He wants to do that, but still....
...As I drove Randy this morning, he still had not a drop of excitement that today was the last day of Seminary. WOW! Did I ever personally know a 15 year old boy that did NOT look at all forward to the end of Seminary? Now I do, and I can't believe he's MINE! It's an awesome feeling.
Changing kids - - - - -
Craigan is looking forward to next year. When we arrived noone really listened to us as we expressed that Craigan learns REALLY fast. This kids freakin' soaks information in like a dry sponge. With some of the learning delays Randy struggled with, and Curtis' ADHD, and Robbie's attitude of she'll do it when it suits her...THIS is quite a switch.
So Craigan is thrilled because the school finally finished their observations and testing, and this little man of mine will finally be in classes that work at HIS learning level. Here's the thing - last year Craigan was in a 1st and 2nd grade combined class. We'd done that in hopes of him being able to get to participate in the stuff he'd blasted thru in Kindergarten. Well, that's not how the class worked. He only did first grade work, but could "listen and observe" the 2nd grade stuff, but not do the work. (dumb). He arrived here, and this 2nd grade class was working on handouts he'd done LAST year as a FIRST grader, half way thru the year. B-O-R-I-N-G. So the teacher and I agreed she'd try to give him 'more challenging work'. We just thought this particular school system was way behind what we had just come from (Which it IS!) but when even that factor was put to rest, Craigan still loved to learn, work, and soak in ALL he could.
He is looking extremely forward to the "tougher" classes, and we've already had the initial 'no gloating' talk. I wouldn't let kids insult those that couldn't learn as fast, so I wont' let him flaunt his learning level. Our family rule with report cards has always been -- you must do YOUR personal best. If you get all C's, but you worked your hardest, then great! If you get all B+'s, but skated thru and didn't study or hand in work and had the potential for an "A", then you're in for some extra "attention".
----- As for Zyzax and the end of the school year - PLEASE let this poor kid get a teacher that can handle his energy next year! Much as I like his kindergarten teacher, he just got to be too much of a handful. We had a meeting a few weeks ago....and she laughed. When he's squirming, or doing something he's not supposed to when the kids are supposed to be quietly listening, if she asks the class a question - he'll have the answer first, and sometimes word for word. Hmmm, he's BORED. Learned it the first few time you taught it and doesn't want to listen to this 4 more times. Ahhh, Patriarch Irish wasn't kidding when he told me I'd have "lively, lively children."
SO ----- even though the big kids'll be holding down the fort on the few days I work, those tend to be the days they all actually do what's on whatever list we leave for them. We are ALL looking forward to the summer break! They get to read the books THEY choose. They get more time on the computer (thankfully most games are the educational sites the school recommends.) and I will desperately attempt to use those early morning hours when the kids are sleeping "IN" to get in some workout time. I've seriously turned into a blob since leaving Okinawa. We sold the exercise bike, and I don't like getting out to walk like i did there. 8 Months of that was NOT smart.
Here's to a great summer, and hoping for teachers that LOVE to teach and make it FUN for my energetic bunch once they get back to school. As excited as they all are for the summer, and our VACATION - YEAH!! -- They thankfully all look forward to getting back to school for the new year even though this one isn't even done yet.
Have a GREAT day everyone!
Friday, May 30, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

Did I miss it, or did you forget to talk about your girly middle child? I'm embarrassed to say that there have been times when I posted and totally forgot my midling.
ReplyDeleteCindi