Sunday, October 26, 2008

WOW is it quiet around here

My brain is working in slow motion after ALL sorts of fun and Craziness!!  Hey, would you expect any less with all THESE guys around... :o)102_4713

There is NOTHING better than a good dose of FAMILY TIME!!  Cousins are thee greatest, and we totally love that Uncle Steve got to come bring all his mini-me's and come for a great little visit. 

We already miss you guys!   102_4714

Thanks for Coming and we'll see you again soon, right?! :o)   BIG ol' hugs all 'round , and Steve, I leave it to you to say it in a real good southern th'ang (not to sure it's a drawl, but it SURE made us all laugh.)

LOVE YA GUYS!!! xOOOOOxx 

(and little E: Uncle Jase'll be sure to 'play the drums & organ' next time you come.) 

Ahhhh, and we'll see if we can find an elevator to practice dancing in , he he he.

Yup, it really was a GREAT weekend!!!!!!!!

Tuesday, October 21, 2008

continued...Great Day

So, I need to finish telling about Saturday and why I had a great day. 

First off, did I mention that it was the first Saturday, not including 3 separate occasions when I was out of town, that I've had OFF with the family!  And it's just the start of a whole bunch of Saturdays to come.  Yippie Yeah!

I was great to wake up with the family, and get our day all going together.  WE got some house stuff tended to, and I realized Robbie and Zacky really cold NOT drag out the wearing of a few pair of jeans any longer.  Robbie's were far too tight, and Zacky's had holes in the knees or were flying high above his ankles.  We used to do shopping trips all together as a family ALL the time, but haven't done so very often over the last year.  So I figured we'd head out.  It was a relaxed shopping trip because there was not ONE thing we had to hurry home to get to.  The older kids got to try out the new Rock Band because they had it set up in the men's clothing department at Walmart.  THAT was cool.  Randy is so good on the guitar, that some other teenagers that were waiting to play, asked him to stay and play a couple songs with them.  He had a great time!  Zac and Robbie loved the chance to get some NEW clothes, and Curtis and Craigan were actually perfectly content with the fact that they and Randy were just along for the ride (and to get groceries with Dad.)

For the month of October, we've made Friday's dinner "Halloween Friday".  One dinner that was a hit was the "Corny Sloppy Joe Pizza."  (little tip, it's easiest to 'cut' your face using a toothpick.)Corny Sloppy Joe Pizzas

Then we made dessert one weekend of "Globlins" (well, the kids did.  we saved it for Saturday when we had the missionaries for dinner. :o)Globlins

Here are their works of art (they opted out of green):102_4297MadMonsterPartyCover

Since I was sick Friday, Saturday was our FUN night.  We decided it was going to be a Movie/Game/Halloween night!  We watched  "Mad Monster Party."  (clips are available on youtube if you want to see what it's like.)

TTacos immage

 

 

 

We enjoyed some Very Yummy Tarantula Tacos.  

 

08ClueHarryPotterEd

As soon as Craigan and Zacky were happily settled into bed, thanks to a full and tiring day, Jase and I sat down with the older kids and enjoyed a game of the new Harry Potter Clue.  Let me just say this - VERY fun game.  It's got some extra twists to it, so even if you have never seen Harry Potter, the game itself is still very fun.  And it's not just the "Harry Potter" version of the original Clue game, so we all really liked the added changes!  The funniest part is that I was so completely brain fried, I was NOT keeping very good track of who was possibly showing someone something, and so I had VERY few clues marked off to figure out "who dun-it?"  The kids were super giggly, the result of too much snacking and not even Starting until after they're usually IN bed.  Suddenly, it's my turn, and I get this bright Idea, being totally silly to play off the funny stuff the kids were doing, and picked stuff they'd either ALWAYS guessed as well as one they NEVER guessed.  Suddenly, my lack of ability to hold a game face killed my chance to win - SO I thought.  The kids NEVER caught it...but Jason did, with that little smirk on his face.  He he he.  Well, Curtis went - nothin'. Randy - Nothin'.  Robbie heads into the room I'm in, and Jason HANDS her the same pieces to guess what I had.  OH, I am SO sorry to say, she was giggling SO much that she made NO connection to the pieces and the fact None of us could prove her wrong.  LOL.  Silly girl.  So, Jase is up next, and - OH, important to note that he's been drawing in his sketch book thee entire game, yet still staying plenty involved.  The kids thought he'd never win because he 'wasn't paying attention.'  LITTLE did THEY know.  IN to the center he goes, and TA-DA, he blows the kids out of the water.  He and I cracked up when we realized they STILL hadn't realized that I, ME, MOM was the one that figured it all OUT!  LOL.  That's okay, they can enjoy dad's multi-tasking skills and be completely impressed. :o).

It's the Simple things in life we need to take time to enjoy.  I haven't taken enough time to focus on the basic things I love about my family, and I only hope to do better.  I've never been one of those Mom's that does the cute notes in lunches, or cut their sandwiches into shapes with cookie cutters.  The whole Halloween Friday came about thanks to a checkout cookbook by Pillsbury.  None of the meals take more time (so far) they they would minus the Halloween-ie twist, but it's FUN. 

Thank you, Jason.  Thank you, Kids.  It really was a wonderful weekend. 

OH - speaking of wonderful weekends... we are SO excited for THIS upcoming weekend.  Steve is coming with his kids to visit!!  His boys and Curtis were attached to each other SO much during our reunion this summer, and ALL the kids just adore their Uncle Steve.  We love all his kids, and the short weekend will never be enough time to cram in a ton of fun, but it SURE will be great while it lasts :o) !!! 

Sunday, October 19, 2008

Our little Guardian

Here's what I woke up to this morning when I opened the front door. There she is, staring back at me thru the storm door.  (better then the other day when she left us a bird on the front porch, thanks for the gift kitty.  Or the 2 squirrels the days before.  She REALLY likes us.)

102_4335

Well, good morning to You too, Kitty.  *sigh, what are we gonna do about her?

Eventually, the kids went out to pet her...she really is sweet.

102_4324 102_4329

 

 

 

I'm going to end up with a new cat along with a new house, aren't I?

Saturday, October 18, 2008

What a Great Day :o)

Although my stomach isn't close to being all the way over the nastiness it's been thru over the past 4 days now, I'm still thrilled to be feeling well enough to be up and getting things accomplished instead of locked away in my bedroom barely able to get out of bed.  Yessss, this is MUCH better.

Before the rains rolled in last night, Randy went out and cut the grass...

102_4312

Jason rotated a bunch of laundry while I was sick, and this is what I found yesterday morning ...

102_4318

So I left it ... letting the kids fold, hang and put ALL of it away when they got home from school.  And you'd think, with those 5 loads done, there wouldn't be too much left.  NOPE.  I do believe the kids had been hiding their clothes under beds, in closets, and who knows where else.  They managed to use EVERY single towel we own our of the kitchen AND the linen closet.  So in spite Jason's efforts to help me, there was still SO much left. 

I am ecstatic to say that as of about 15 minutes ago, THIS is what my laundry area looks like... Empty Bins, only the stuff finished since the kids went to bed still waiting to be put away. 

102_4322

102_4321

 

 

I KNOW I had ALL the laundry from the WHOLE house (before the bedtime change over.)  So I was psyched to put that LAST load into the washer tonight.  Then... I turned around to leave the room, and saw this...

 102_4323

SHOOT!  Where did that all come from?  Ahhhh /smack the forehead/ it's that darned cat that wants to be ours.  You see, we have apparently gotten on the good side of an adorable black cat that we believe is a stray in the neighborhood.  She looks JUST like Pez, a male cat we had back in 2001 till he left one day and never came home (but mysteriously within the next year, there were ALOT of new kittens that started showing up that looked an AWFUL lot like mini-Pez's.) We think a neighbor kept him inside long enough for him to consider THAT home.

Anyway, so this cat has white in the same places on the belly, but no white on her paws.  She started showing up nearly 2 months ago, and is, without fail, always here when we all leave to go to school and work.  Don't know where she goes, but she'll show up JUST in time to wait with me for the kids to get off the bus.  She doesn't leave the general yard area until everyone has safely returned home.  Our little protector.  Over the last week, she'll show up out of who knows where, no matter WHAT time Jason gets home from work, to greet him and wrap around his legs in and out till he'll stop and cuddle her awhile.  We believe she's here for him in a HUGE way.  Cat's calm Jason tons and tons, and she's his little keeper. 

Today, the weather is cold, and rainy and beautifully wintry.  Great for me, not great for kitty.  We had the sliding doors to the back deck open part way, and she heard us in the kitchen.  Guess she wanted to come in because she went to the screen, dug in her claws, and pulled  till it came out of the frame and she had a big enough hole she could fit thru.  Craigan started yelling for us when he saw her doing this, but we didn't get there till she'd helped herself to coming in.  I wouldn't let her stay in the house (we can't have pets, AND I have no idea what bugs she might be carrying. I'm not trying to be mean or heartless..she's a sweet cat.) The kids got a bunch of towels, put them in a box on the covered front porch, used a hand towel to cuddle her and dry her off -- so after she left, I got the extra laundry.  Ya know what, it's really worth a few dirty towels to know she was cozy for a while.  I get the feeling she's going to be very upset when we move.  (or work her way into moving with us, hmm???)

_____________________________________________________

Darn it, I'll have to finish later... I wanted to keep these more interesting to us pictures whenever I can, but I can't find something I was looking for, and I'm not looking for it at 11 at night.  So, I guess today's Great Day stories will have to be continued...

Thursday, October 16, 2008

I spoke too soon....me and my big mouth

Jase and I joke alot about the fact he cant say too much, because he tends to jinx things.  Well, for work stuff anyway.  He was on ship, returning from - Thailand I think it was, or maybe the Phillipeens?  Anyway, the seas had been pretty calm, and the last 24 hours or so before they were due in, Jase says "Wow, we've really gotten to enjoy some pretty calm seas.  This ride hasn't been bad at all."  Then, yup, anyone that knows us knows what happened next.... a seriouse storm and the boat tossed about till nearly everyone tossed their cookies.  yuck.  So he tries really hard to watch his words.

When it comes to yard work, I've learned to watch what I say.  With OUT Fail, if I say - Oh, I'm SO glad I've got tomorrow off, I can get the bushes trimmed, or the lawn mowed -- It will RAIN.  Seeing we were in sever droubt conditions when we arrived, lots of people wished I'd said that more the fall we arrived here.  Anyway, So I now just wait on each day and run out to do yard work when I can sneak it in.

So I said I needed the fun to begin.  Yeah - I've been experiencing the WRONG kind of "FUN".  I got Randy off to seminary yesterday morning, and about 30 seconds after he got out of the car, I felt a killer wave of nausa.  Within minutes I was fighting off the watery mouth that let me know, no matter how hard I fight it, I was NOT about to win the battle of being VERY very sick, VERY very quickly.  I made it in the house, to the bathroom, and the past 30 hours have been a big blur.  I feel like I've done a million situps AND have given birth.  Sorry guys, you'll not have a clue how much I'm REALLY saying my body hurts...lucky you actually.

So, I know Randy, Curtis, and Robbie have been sick - they're all home due to the manditory -- 24 hours after throwing up, rule.  I know I had to bring Craigan home about 20 minutes after he got to school yesterday, but he only threw up right after I got him home, so we fudged our way thru the rule.  Zacky had been sick over the weekend and poped back to normal within a few hours.  The big kids are loving having time to play video games, and yet ME.... I never can have the quick bug the rest of them get, can I?  We all got sick with this about 2 months ago, and I got it HUGE then too.  And got it TWICE, on it's way in AND out, sheesh.  So, just sitting at the computer for the last half hour has me working up a sweat (we thought the fever was gone, dang it).  I have to say, if any ONE of us in the family HAS to get sick THIS bad, I"m sure glad it's me...and that it happened with my long streak of days off. 

I had wanted one of Jase's nieces to come here to visit for a few weeks to get her in a neutral environment, and to enjoy some extended family time.  I really wish she were here to help on a day like today.  (I'd day I want my Mom, but I wouldn't wish her to fight off this sick...yucky!)

I love my husband, poor guy took the couch and did NOT take his sleep meds so he could tend to the sick family.  He's soooo tired today.  If it weren't for his therapy appointment he'd still be asleep for a nap now that I've dragged my butt out of bed.

Okay everyone, take your vitamins, eat your fruits and veggies, and STAY HEALTHY. :o)   (and say a prayer I can get my house sorted in time for our move....oh boy do I need it if this doesn't go away soon.)

Let the FUN begin

(I tried to post this night before last...crappy internet connection...ugh.)

In my attempts to get the kids to focus on what few chores I needed them to do over the long weekend, I wrote them out a list.  I try to ask things that shouldn't take too  much time out of their day, so that they can have MORE then ample time to play and draw and what not.  I was working all day, 4 days out of the last 5, while Jason was home a large majority of the time.  So the list was also to help him not go completely batty trying to remember what the heck the kids were Suppose to be doing.

May no good intention (with long list or short) go unpunished in this family.  I honestly doesn't matter what you promise, threaten, or blatantly bribe my kids with, they will still MINDlessly carry on with play time or steal away time on the t.v. during that time after I've left for work, but before Jason rouses from his sleep meds, or vanish to a quiet spot to draw the hours away.  None of these are BAD things, just irritating as crap after happening SO many times I'd like to remove ALL drawing supplies, toys, and unplug the tv's. 

Needless to say, they got in plenty of play time -- till I got home from work.  Poor Jason, thought they were doing at least SOME degree of work that would let us all hang out and enjoy the new Clue game we went and got.  I went into Robbie's room to put away some clothes I'd hung up from the dryer, and opened her closet door -- Oh NO she did NOT!  I SO wish I'd taken a picture.  She honest to GOODNESS has her walk in closet SO full it was up to MY KNEE, right against the door!  Sheesh...... *sigh....this too shall pass, and OH do I need to carry my camera.  If for no other reason, to show her what HER version of getting her room "all squared away" meant when SHE has kids and is upset over their version of cleaning up. 

OH WELL.  They've done what they've done, they've left the rest, and I was 100% determined not to torment them for ignoring me and "THE LIST". 

So, this is the FUN I have ahead of me....

1.) Packing up all my sewing supplies into neat and accessable boxes.

2.) Finish tending to current laundry piles, starting with the 4 loads of clean stuff sitting in the corner of the family room waiting to be hung/folded/put away.

3.) Sort thru, empty out, and eliminate ALL I possibly can from the kids room, and then ours. 

I've got 4 full days, and then Sunday to rest.  I WAS going to start in the garage, till we found out we need to have the house ready for people to do walk thrus.

OH, yeah, the owner of this crappy house decided to put the house on the market instead of trying to rent it out.  I SO wish I could tell potential buyers all the stuff that needs to be fixed so they could use that info to get a super deal on this place.  IF ONLY the repairs were made, I'd SO stay here till time to transfer.

--------------------------------------------------------------

I can't keep my train of thought -- Jason found ALL of Terry Pratchett's books' audio versions, and is listening to one.  Okay, these books are so funny he'll be reading them and just burst out in VERY loud laughter.  NOW -- we're experiencing the thrill of listening to someone other then Jason, with that wonderful British accent, reading the stories, and OH is it funny.  You just can't have a British story read by a girl with an American accent.  I've tried to read it outloud to the kids --- ugh, nooo, let's NOT do that again.  I think I'll be listening to Jason and Randy yuck it up for the next hour till I have to kick them off to bed :o).

--------------------------------------------------------------

So, I got "tagged" by Austin.  I'm not exactly UP with the whole blogging thing, but what exactly does that mean?  Am I supposed to check my face book?  my internet connection is sickeningly slow, so I've not checked that in a while.

Ah, dang it --I still need to introduce the kids.....AH too much to do.  But it'll all be over soon - right?  So long as our move is I'm good.

Thursday, October 9, 2008

A funny bedtime story

Okay, one thing Jase & I have found necessary in our lives is that even when something very unpleasant is put into your life to deal with, you have GOT to have a good sense of humor to handle it all.  Find the funny perspective... it makes sleep more possible.

I'd like to say, there was an extremely UNpleasant nighttime experience Jase had 2 months and 2 days ago.  Ever since, we have had to focus more-so on how he reacts to his medicines and what his sleep is like. Enjoyable, not stressful stories MUST be enjoyed so we know, it'll all be fine.

_______________________________________________

Last night, Jase waited until I returned from driving the kids to their youth activities at church before he took his sleeping pills and such. For me, that was the first time I'd stopped moving all day, so I wasn't exactly watching the clock.  This is something we've become rather used to needing to do, because the new pill combo tends to kick in rather quickly, and getting to Jase to bed can be, well, rather humorous as he bounces off the walls refusing me to help him keep his balance... or even crawling because he can't stand up and stay standing (that's the big one we try to avoid).

So - I found this something I absolutely NEEDed to keep a memory of, so for the kids, I'll put here what I entered in my journal.

"Jason and I were watching random stuff on T.V., when I realized it was 9:20, and WAYYY too much time had past since he had taken his bedtime pills.  NOT a good thing since the longer he waits, the less his ability to WALK.  I made sure he got to the bedroom, and he went in to use the bathroom.  I turned on the lamp by his bed - a blue light so it's not so harsh on sleepy eyes - and folded down the covers, so he wouldn't get tangled and end up untucking them ALL, leaving me NONE.  Then I went back to the living room.  He's been FINE for weeks now, at settling into bed.  It never crossed my mind to check on him.  I watched a part of an interview, and some stuff on TLC (just LOVE Jon & Kate plus 8), then got distracted catching up on blogs.  (our phone & internet were OUT for most of 3 days -- all better now :o).

I came in, about 10 minutes before sitting to write this (remember, this was my journal entry last night.)

---- Uhm, uh-oh.  Gosh, where the HECK is Jason???  Back in the bathroom maybe? You see, I saw the blue light STILL on.  Okay, maybe he was SO tired he didn't think to turn it off.  That's when I realized -The covers are the SAME way I left them.  . . . Did he fall asleep in the bathroom? maybe?  I turned on my bedside lamp so I could actually see, but it's not as bright as the overhead light so as not to scare the crap out of Jason, when & WHERE ever I managed to find him.  I walked into the changing area that leads to our bathroom or walk-in closet. THAT is when I saw Jason's fleece blanket on the floor poking out from the doorway of the closet.  I did NOT see Jason in the bathroom, so I turned on THAT light for additional indirect light. 

Low and behold - WHAT do I see, but Jason all comfy and content, curled up sleeping on the close floor. 

(this is our re-enactment photo so as to let you all get a better feel for what it is I saw...only with WAY less lighting)

reenact Jason sleeping in closet I don't know WHY, but I do know that the pillow and blanket had been in the corner of the bedroom - by the bed - earlier.  Why get them and then go BACK to go to sleep on the closet floor?

(as is now habit, I approached with caution, not knowing if this is his safe zone, or occurred out of wacky weird dreams.)

When I was getting Jason to wake up enough to go to BED, I asked him what he was doing in the closet.  He said, "I was doing what you told me.  Didn't you put me to bed in the closet?"  "No, dear."  "Oh, well, why am I here then?"  "I dunno Jason.  Let's get you to bed.  It's much more comfy."  he grunted, sort of nodded his head, and easily complied.

:o)  I love him SO much, and we've had a good laugh about the closet.  Truthfully, I won't be shocked to find him there again sometime.  Once he gained some degree of alertness today, we figured possibilities why it was a comfy spot.  First, many times in Iraq, he slept on floors in peoples homes.  Also he just LOVES cold sheets and the air straight out of the air vent.  You see, the closet has wonderfully cool wooden floors, and his pillow was planted RIGHT on top of the air vent on the closet floor, maintaining that comfort zone.  He was all curled up in the fleece blanket I made for him that he always uses to relax when he's feeling exceptionally stressed, AND there wasn't a cricket to be heard in there (one of thee MOST irritating sounds to him is that lone chirp in the quiet night.)  So really, it WAS the perfect spot to sleep.  And we're just happy it was a funny kind of odd thing, not a scary combat zone thing. (I've had enough of those bedtime events to last me a while.)

Again -- enjoy a healthy sense of humor, or any and everything will be a struggle and a worry.  I've got enough going on, I don't need horrid wrinkles to top it all off. 

Quick nickname clarification

Okay, as Andrea pointed out, many people thought I hated being called Jenny.  Actually, I wasn't ALLOWED to be called Jenny.  Mom never really gave me a reason that made sense, just told me that they had named me Jennifer, so that's what they wanted people to call me.  I'd argue 'Jen was shorter, so why not Jenny' ...."NOPE - just make SURE people don't call you Jenny.  It isn't OK."  ... grrr - Fine then. Got it. I shall comply.

It drove my mom absolutely Bonkers when I was a teenager, and the Sissons moved in. (wonderful family) They just LOVED to call me Jenny, and didn't matter HOW many times I told them my Mom didn't like it, they said it just suited me, and they carried on.  :O)  Sorry Mom, but I liked that they just did it anyway. 

Well, finally, about the age of 24, after YEARS of both my ex- AND Jase BOTH calling me Jenny, and mom actually finding it very Sweet to hear it out of Jason :O)... she tells me that when I was born there was one of the many secretaries at my Dad's work that was named Jenny, and she didn't want there to be any possible reminder of her when they talked to Me. --Huh?  Was she serious?  Okay, well, Dad was there when she told me this, and he looked up and made a funny face and said "there Was?  I don't remember any Jenny.  Then again, I don't remember many of the people from there."  LOL...how funny. Something that didn't mean a DARNED thing to my Dad, yet I ALLways had to make the effort to BAN the "Jenny".

I welcome the nicknames!  Call me what you will, just please keep it nice, and I'm still just ME.  Our kids have TWO middle names each, and we've told'em... shake life up and use ANY of your names, mix'em up if you want to, just be sure to still be YOU.

Thursday, October 2, 2008

WWB

Just an update on Jase and his work.  Things have moved alot faster then we thought, and yesterday Jase was transferred from Combat Camera to the Wounded Warrior Battalion. We're both feeling really positive about this opportunity for Jase to focus on his healing from the PTSD.  We know he'll never be "all better", but any better would be a relief, and now, that is what his job is -- healing some of the fractures in his mind.