When I started this, I wanted it to be some sort of journal I could have printed up and save for my kids to have some memories, as well as a way to encourage myself to find positive things to dwell on and savor for those days that aren't quite as easy to get thru. I absolutely LOVE to hop around and read the blogs being kept by friends I've made thru the years, as well as those kept by the wonderful people I spent my teenage years with.
So I ask...how many of you face the computer screen when you can FINALLY get to it, and totally FORGET absolutely Every Single thought you had that you just couldn't wait to write about to hold on to, or those funny things you just HAD to share. ARGE!! In my frustration with my struggle to think clearly and remember things lately (side effect of having to think overtime for all those that are not able or WILLING to think for themselves) I decided to blog-hop and hopefully get inspired.
Ya know what I found? Having time off for winter break has apparently kept nearly EVERYONE away from their computers. Yeah, for everyone, but a bummer when I'm looking for something interesting. There's only so much Zuma or Peggle or solitaire one person can play before feeling like you yourself are going to start becoming a video game.
-----
Okay, 2 kid things to mark before I forget. First, Zacky made it thru his very first New Years. All the kids stayed up and we watched movies, played games, ate junk food, drew, (I didn't ... I crochet when they all draw.) and had a good time till about half past 11. That's when the kids chose the countdown channel that seemed the most fun, and the last 30 minutes FLEW by. At about 12:05, we started to say goodnight, and Jason found this cool special on the Blue Man Group. We ALL got excited, resumed our spots on the couches and floor, and enjoyed that till 1am. By this point, Craigan, Zacky, and I were ALL on the verge of becoming walking zombies, so OFF to bed we went. I think everyone else went then too, but honestly, don't remember and dont' much care. Everyone was safely in bed snoozin' when I woke up, and Zacky was thrilled to have been able to tough it out with the big kids!
Secondly, Robbie is becoming quite the runner. The other day we went exploring not too far from our house. Jason had noticed a spot where LOTS of runners and mountain bikers would turn off the main road, and we saw a sign for something or other Nature Trail and something. Okay, let's check it out. We explored paved trails as well as unpaved ones that wove in and out of the woods, along the river, AND conveniently right up to the back end of Craigan's school. This meant that we don't have to drive around to the start of the path if we don't want to. We all ran little races in spurts throughout our excursion. Craigan and I raced, and he started to giggle too much to keep running. Hey, he was beating me, but I guess it was funny that I wouldn't stop before HE gave up.
Anyway, so Jason and I were both just feeling crummy today, and even though it's Sunday, I knew he'd perk up if he went for a run. He took Robbie and Randy with him, and off they went for a 4 mile (give or take) run along the trails and pathways we'd discovered. Normally, Jason has to walk quite a bit here and there to give the kids a breather when he takes them running with him. Robbie actually ran the ENTIRE thing, and Jase let HER set the pace for coming home. Now, I think it was the thrill of the new running sneakers I bought her the other day JUST to wear running with dad, but she set a pretty fast pace home, and maintained it the entire last mile and a half! Randy was bushed, Jason impressed, and Robbie quickly zoned out sitting on the couch after cooling off. The kids want to go more often, and I'm looking forward to this week getting over (working every day due to inventory -- sounds thrilling huh?) .. so I can get out there with Jason and at least walk for an hour. I'm inspired by Sarah and Belinda to get out and run, but in an effort to not break or damage something, I'll start with regular walks I think.
Anyway, inspite having taken his sleeping pills, I can hear Jason wandering back and forth in our room. Hmm, maybe the change in sleeping pills wasn't the best change?! Better go see what's up and get myself into bed. Tomorrow, back to a normal routine that includes waking up LONG before 10am.
I hope you all had a wonderful winter break, and I will somehow figure out how to remember my interesting stuff to share more often.

No comments:
Post a Comment