Ever had a day where things just kept going and going and going and GOING AND GOING. If you stop you just KNOW you will NOT get going again, yet you can't seem to stop finding things that just NEED your attention. Not later, not tomorrow, but ASAP.
This is how my mind is viewing absolutly EVERYTHING right now. I have at least one major thing every Thursday or Friday for too many weeks in a row, and I'm feeling the serious crunch kicking in for the next months worth of "big stuff". Clearly Thanksgiving is THIS weeks big Thursday event. We are hopefully having Grandpa Jim (former neighbor we've decided to just NEEDS to be part of our family...so we dropped the Mr and made him Grandpa). . . he's due to be here for our traditional meal. I also got a great phone call from my brother Ken. This is the brother next in line after me :o). He recently transferred to the DC area for work, and things changed with friends for Thanksgiving, so WE get him instead! The kids are THRILLED to know he's coming. I'm excited to actually get someone from my family for the holiday. I was feeling a tad bummed because my parents & sister as well as Mark & Tammy and their kids are all flying out to Utah to be with Frank & Lily and Phil & Shelli and all their kids...as well as Mom's side of the family, and any and all friends in the general area that can show up to the party they're planning for this Friday. I mean, all that family and friends too, who in the world wants to be stuck in this quiet little area?
Actually, I'm so used to living too far away from anyone to do much, that I'm just bummed out at missing all the socializing. Not so much the big meal preparation or anything like that. Too much chaos for us right about now.
So, the thing is, next week I fly out to be with my parents for a couple weeks because my mom is having knee surgery. So my brain is in overload trying to keep myself on track to find all the christmas stuff; figure out how to arrange the living room so there's a place for the tree; what gifts do we plan on ordering online that we'll need to do when the next money hits the bank; what bills need to be paid and gifts purchased at stores before I leave; do I need to re-schedule any appointments for kids that conflict with Jason new schedule he got today; do all the kids have the emergency numbers in their phones? etc etc etc. Gotta get laundry all caught up, and make sure the house is as clean AND Organized as I can get it. This way I can relax and enjoy my Thanksgiving, and Jason and the kids can easily stay on track while I'm away.
The stress is worth it. The work is worth it. I'm thrilled I actually have kids old enough to leave behind with dad and that I am actually available to go out to help out my Mom. She's been doing SO much for the family, flying here and there to help with many of her wonderfully adorable grandchildren. It's time she had one of us there to help her so she could focus on her recovery knowing there's a set of extra hands to fill in. Dad and Emily would have done everything and been okey-dokey, but Jason and I really felt strongly that at this point, my being there to help would aleviate extra stress. They certainly don't need any extra stress. Besides, I didn't even have to pay the bill alone. It might be me physically going, but my brothers responded quickly when I asked if they could help with the ticket. I wish my brothers really knew JUST how much it means to me that they were willing to help out. That'll have to be a post on another day for my blog though.
As for the kids, they're all looking forward to a very relaxing and fun filled LOOOONNNNNGGG weekend. They will be thankful for manythings, only part of which will be that I'm letting them have free video game time. Normally they "pay" with the chore tokens they earn. But, being a holiday, so long as they don't fight, they don't have to pay. Just enjoy.
So, my brain is in overload from ALL the things I'm trying to keep straight. I keep writing stuff down in hopes it'll let my brain off this crazy ride, but all that does is leave room for MORE thinking....ahhhhhhhgggggg. So, I just put all my energy into getting the garage stuff done to make room for kids to play ('cause we can't HEAR them when they're playing out there. Yesss, it's better then having a basement.!!) Tomorrow I'll be forced to physically slow down for many hours while I take Jason in for some of his testing. The insanity will soon start as he gets what feels like a million and one tests done to prepare for his med board. I hope he'll be okay and not have TOO much while I'm away. At least there is ONE thing I know he CAN remember. He knows when he's having a not so good day, and if he shouldn't be driving due to headaches or stress or anxiety overload, then rescheduling appointments is ALWAYS an option. If I didn't think he'd do that, I wouldn't leave. Ahhh, but the best part is, he's FINALLY on a balance of meds that helps him sleep ALL night!!! Peacefully even! No sleepwalking, no crazy talking in his sleep, or tossing and turning. No hiding in his closet to sleep. He goes to bed, falls asleep, and even wakes up pretty easily. No longer does it take an hour or 2 to shake off the groggy feelings. YIPPIE!! Not sure how long this will last before some sort of change will be needed, but I am SO thrilled that his trip to the Holliswood Hospital we SO very beneficial.
Well, it's very very late, and I've got to put on my drivers cap tomorrow rather early. G-night all.
Monday, November 23, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment