Friday, December 25, 2009
What a Wonderfu Christmas Day
Our day has been very relaxing and enjoyable. Luckily, we long ago established a pattern of enjoying opening gifts one at a time so we all see what's been received, and as each person is letting the others open up, they've got some time to checkout what they opened. This year, it was a good 2 hours of gift opening, and we all had a great morning.
I have been going pretty much non-stop for all of December, so once those gifts were opened and all the kids were off to try out their new things, I bailed and went to bed. I even got a new computer, and there just wasn't another ounce of energy left to motivate me to stay up and set it up. (My old computer died, so it worked out great --- HSN had an awsome deal, AND it's a touch screen like Jasons, AND I had no idea what to ask for this year. Walaahhh ...yeah, spelled all wrong.... A Computer it is!) Eventually I woke up to enjoy time with the family. I rolled over a few times, enjoying the sounds of Randy messing around with his new Electric Guitar, and Curtis with his Electric Bass. :o) Talk about great sounds. They've pulled out the "how to" books, and are both SO excited. They were even more thrilled that they didn't ONLY get the guitars. Guitar stands, sweaters, and lots and lots of books for the family.
All the kids loved their gifts, I CLEARLY love that I have a computer again, and even better, I managed to get Jason gifts that he did NOT know what he was getting and even loved. Yesss, that is always a good feeling of sucess.
I need to go thru the camera, get pictures, and write a proper post. I also need to update about my trip to my parents house in Colorado the start of the month. I also need to say SORRY, no cards went out this year. I didn't even get my gifts into the mail to arrive before Christmas. So, outside of the house, I'm a big ol' slacker. Not for a lack of heart OR effort, but all for a lack of energy. We did however, between Jason and myself, manage to have ALL shopping AND wrapping completed before the afternoon of the 24th. YIPPIE!!! It was so nice to get everyone off to bed, including myself, by a decent time of night.
I really do hope that you all had a wonderful Christmas Day. Our family is so very thankful for all of our family and friends that fill our lives :o). May you all be blessed this beautiful day and always.
Love from us all.
Monday, November 23, 2009
Make it stop, I wanna get off....
This is how my mind is viewing absolutly EVERYTHING right now. I have at least one major thing every Thursday or Friday for too many weeks in a row, and I'm feeling the serious crunch kicking in for the next months worth of "big stuff". Clearly Thanksgiving is THIS weeks big Thursday event. We are hopefully having Grandpa Jim (former neighbor we've decided to just NEEDS to be part of our family...so we dropped the Mr and made him Grandpa). . . he's due to be here for our traditional meal. I also got a great phone call from my brother Ken. This is the brother next in line after me :o). He recently transferred to the DC area for work, and things changed with friends for Thanksgiving, so WE get him instead! The kids are THRILLED to know he's coming. I'm excited to actually get someone from my family for the holiday. I was feeling a tad bummed because my parents & sister as well as Mark & Tammy and their kids are all flying out to Utah to be with Frank & Lily and Phil & Shelli and all their kids...as well as Mom's side of the family, and any and all friends in the general area that can show up to the party they're planning for this Friday. I mean, all that family and friends too, who in the world wants to be stuck in this quiet little area?
Actually, I'm so used to living too far away from anyone to do much, that I'm just bummed out at missing all the socializing. Not so much the big meal preparation or anything like that. Too much chaos for us right about now.
So, the thing is, next week I fly out to be with my parents for a couple weeks because my mom is having knee surgery. So my brain is in overload trying to keep myself on track to find all the christmas stuff; figure out how to arrange the living room so there's a place for the tree; what gifts do we plan on ordering online that we'll need to do when the next money hits the bank; what bills need to be paid and gifts purchased at stores before I leave; do I need to re-schedule any appointments for kids that conflict with Jason new schedule he got today; do all the kids have the emergency numbers in their phones? etc etc etc. Gotta get laundry all caught up, and make sure the house is as clean AND Organized as I can get it. This way I can relax and enjoy my Thanksgiving, and Jason and the kids can easily stay on track while I'm away.
The stress is worth it. The work is worth it. I'm thrilled I actually have kids old enough to leave behind with dad and that I am actually available to go out to help out my Mom. She's been doing SO much for the family, flying here and there to help with many of her wonderfully adorable grandchildren. It's time she had one of us there to help her so she could focus on her recovery knowing there's a set of extra hands to fill in. Dad and Emily would have done everything and been okey-dokey, but Jason and I really felt strongly that at this point, my being there to help would aleviate extra stress. They certainly don't need any extra stress. Besides, I didn't even have to pay the bill alone. It might be me physically going, but my brothers responded quickly when I asked if they could help with the ticket. I wish my brothers really knew JUST how much it means to me that they were willing to help out. That'll have to be a post on another day for my blog though.
As for the kids, they're all looking forward to a very relaxing and fun filled LOOOONNNNNGGG weekend. They will be thankful for manythings, only part of which will be that I'm letting them have free video game time. Normally they "pay" with the chore tokens they earn. But, being a holiday, so long as they don't fight, they don't have to pay. Just enjoy.
So, my brain is in overload from ALL the things I'm trying to keep straight. I keep writing stuff down in hopes it'll let my brain off this crazy ride, but all that does is leave room for MORE thinking....ahhhhhhhgggggg. So, I just put all my energy into getting the garage stuff done to make room for kids to play ('cause we can't HEAR them when they're playing out there. Yesss, it's better then having a basement.!!) Tomorrow I'll be forced to physically slow down for many hours while I take Jason in for some of his testing. The insanity will soon start as he gets what feels like a million and one tests done to prepare for his med board. I hope he'll be okay and not have TOO much while I'm away. At least there is ONE thing I know he CAN remember. He knows when he's having a not so good day, and if he shouldn't be driving due to headaches or stress or anxiety overload, then rescheduling appointments is ALWAYS an option. If I didn't think he'd do that, I wouldn't leave. Ahhh, but the best part is, he's FINALLY on a balance of meds that helps him sleep ALL night!!! Peacefully even! No sleepwalking, no crazy talking in his sleep, or tossing and turning. No hiding in his closet to sleep. He goes to bed, falls asleep, and even wakes up pretty easily. No longer does it take an hour or 2 to shake off the groggy feelings. YIPPIE!! Not sure how long this will last before some sort of change will be needed, but I am SO thrilled that his trip to the Holliswood Hospital we SO very beneficial.
Well, it's very very late, and I've got to put on my drivers cap tomorrow rather early. G-night all.
Thursday, November 19, 2009
I need your comments so I can save your blog sites!!!
You see....I KNOW I've lost ALL my favorites. ALL my crafting sites, new blog addresses, cool things I've found along the way over the last 6 or 7 months. Ya know, you find the best blog because they left a comment on someone elses blog, so you save theirs and start to follow. Well, now, I am starting all over.
SO, got any blogs to recommend? Do you want to make sure I have the chance to follow YOUR blog? Better leave it in a comment. I'm going to get smart at make sure I add it to my "blogs I follow" so I don't get stuck like this again.
This is almost as bad as loosing your address book.
Until I'm willing to get my computer repaired, I'll be kicking Jason off his computer on occasion, or waiting for that one in 8-23 times it takes for our old laptop to actually load correctly. (That's been dying ever since jason brought it back from Iraq. Eventually I will let it go into retirement, but BOY am I happy it still loads and works for us, even though it takes patient coaxing to get going the right way.)
Leave me your blog, and i shall do my best to follow. :o)
Friday, October 23, 2009
Drivers Ed.
So, beware of the "student driver" car. It's on the roads for the next month I do believe before another classroom portion begins. he he he.
Darned my computer
So, should you find yourself here, reading my never updated enough blog, and you have a blog of your own. ..
Please leave a comment and include your blog so I can update all my info and save it ON my blog, not IN my computer.
Thankfully, we've got an old laptop that works every 3rd or 10th time you turn it on...lol. Hey, it survived Iraq with Jason. I'm amazed the computer even MADE it home thru all the sand and such. I can use Jason's computer, but the kids are totally NO TOUCHIE!! Literally, it's a touch screen computer. lol. No, seriously, Jason's computer is for his graphics and such. I won't risk ANYTHING happening to his computer, ever. So, kids are just bummin'.
Take Care all. :-)
Tuesday, October 6, 2009
What to say??....
I am really NOT very good at updating on a regular basis, am I? Ooops.
Well, the shrimping was a good idea, but we really need to find out the best time of year AND the best time of day during shrimp season to get a really good haul. They all loved what they caught, and look forward to trying this again next year.
The kids are all working really hard in school. The last week or so we've all been worn out, so I think there's been a little slacking on their parts as well as ours to keep them on track. We're trying to make the most of the next 3 weeks so they can all be truly happy when the report cards come home. Actually, they have been working SO much harder then they usually do at the start of the year, that I'm really proud of the efforts they've put forth on their own behalves.
Randy has been the most active. There are some days I literally have seen him less then an hour. That's normal for alot of families that have a junior in high school, but for us, we've tried to keep the schedule more open to study, sleep, and have family time. Now, Randy is at marching band practice or at a performance or at a competition. He also just started drivers ed classes. --NOT to worry, he's only doing classroom right now. I'll try to remember to send out fair warning when the class moves to the road. lol. With all the teens on base, Randy's done alot of babysitting, and just yesterday got his first call for a job interview. Depending on how it goes, he'll have a tough time giving up marching band for a paying job, but that's his plan. He wants to establish a job history before we move again. I'm glad he's showing signs of making decisions with his future in mind, not just today's fun.
Curtis is really enjoying High School. He's made a few really good friends around here, so he's been spending more time hangin' out at their homes or ours. He's been much better at staying on task at school so he can have more free time after school. Wow! A responsible high school freshman. I didn't think one of those would come from MY house. LOL. Kidding. ;o) ...sort of...\
Robbie is loving 7th grade so far. She still stresses too much over her grades to the point she was talking about homework assignments in her sleep last week. Gotta do pages 50 and 51 odd numbers only...read these pages,...blah blah blah. Oh boy, I'm glad she's determined, but I need that anxiety level to go down. I'd rather have all C's out of her but for her to be able to relax. Balance is what she is working on. Besides all that, she has a whole slew of girlfriends in the area that are constantly coming over to hang out. :o).
Can I just say, I love that the kids friends like being at our house. The other day, I was trying to take a nap. I kept hearing kids, but knew Jason had everyone under control. When I got up, there were 6 kids in the house that were NOT ours. That is after the other 7 or 8 left. YES!! We've achieved "the cool house" status. LOL.
Craigan and Zacky have both been doing really well. Craigan's mostly been lying low, keeping life simple, reading and loving taking care of his betta fish. Zyzax's arm is doing better. His bone is healing, but not enough to be out of a cast like we had hoped for. He is thrilled to have gotten out of a full cast, and now to have only a half cast, right to his elbow. He's SO glad. Probably another 10 days till he gets that off. Guess we'll see.
Jason left yesterday for his new inpatient treatment. I finally got to talk to him tonight, and so far so good. A good impression of the facility so far, so he's still doig his best to stay positive that this will be a beneficial experience. He's determined to get help "organizing his mental garage of clutter". I'm determined to keep life as unchanged as possible here so the kids don't miss him too much, and to keep myself from worrying about him. I can't say I won't miss him, because that starts before I even say the final see ya at the airport.
I'm still trying to figure out how to defeat my own depression and mental exhaustion. I haven't had the desire to sew enough to even try to get out my machine ever since we moved back in June. There are only so many moves and so many times I can try to get myself and the family set up before even I get worn out. I haven't cross-stitched or crocheted more then a couple hours worth since then either. However, I've learned that I enjoy reading christian fiction books. I have managed to blast thru quite a few in the last few months. Hopefully getting a few really good nights of sleep will help me work on getting back into my drive and determination mode. I want to get in the mood to finish up the garage, take at least a little time to sew, and to help the kids resort their clothes now that they've all gone thru a growth spurt. Aren't you all just wishing you were in my shoes to WANT to do these things. Yes folks, besides crafts, those are the things I enjoy...sorting and organizing. The more purging the better. (the less I need to have packed for the NEXT move. ahh, gotta think ahead.)
So, I think that covers it for now. I know I need to post pictures from birthdays and such, if I remember too. Or just do better about regularly updating so I don't keep missing huge chunks of time.
Take Care all!
Monday, August 31, 2009
The Shrimpin’ was fun!
We had never ever thought of going out to catch our own shrimp before. Then, yesterday, our home teacher and his wife came over to visit. They told us it's shrimp season, where to go, and HOW to catch’em.
Seeing I’ve got 3 out of the 7 family members in this house that are ADDICTED to Shrimp, it is TOTALLY worth it to give this a shot. Today, Jason and I went out to the exchange to see just how much it’d cost to get a casting net (only way I could remember the name…to me it sounded like the Kehr’s had said “castanets.” LOL. pathetic, I know, but it worked to remember.) So, the casting nets started at $35 and working up to the $60 range for something we had NO idea about and were attempting to do, yes? no? do we really want to try this? hmmmm. Robbie got home from school just before we returned from our little trip to the exchange, and we had texted her to tell her what we were up to. She called us to beg if we could go TODAY. Please oh PLEASE oh puuuhhhhhhllllllllleeeeeeezzzzzzz!!!!! It was too funny. We pulled up into the driveway, and I traded out for Robbie. I sent her and Jason off to Walmart to see if they had anything lower priced for us shrimping beginners, and I stayed home to wait for all the other kids to get home from school, and get some laundry done. {Honestly now, is the laundry EVER done??}
They returned with a casting net, another net on a pole, and LOTS of excited energy to take off and try this all out. I had cut the back yard – YEAH, finally enough grass to have it be worth pulling out the lawnmower –and had sent Curtis to do our neighbors too since we had our mower out. He was weed whacking, and still needed to finish fixing his bike. Randy was off at marching band practice, and Craigan and Zac were just being tired and difficult. So I kissed them both, told them good luck, and sent Jason and Robbie off to try this whole shrimping thing out. Since they’re the ones that’ll eat most of the take, if THEY like it, it would be worth making a family event out of it to get more.
OH they had FUN! It was exhausting, but they were both home a couple hours later with great big smiles on their faces, and about 3 lbs of shrimp, with some tiny fishes that snuck thru. Apparently, they caught an entire net FULL of the tiny fishes the first casting, and threw them up to the seagulls and tossed the rest back in.
So they cleaned them and everyone checked out real live FRESH Shrimp. A few kept jumping out into the sink. It was pretty funny.
Then it was time to cook them up.
They were SO happy with what they had to show for their work for today. They couldn’t wait to get to EAT it.
Ahh, but first Jason needed to teach the kids how they prep the now cooked shrimp. All his years in restaurants, the catching was the only part he needed to learn.
Robbie was right in there. Afraid of nothing and REALLY hungry at this point in time. After all the work, our friends called and told us about a great kitchen gadget to get to clean all the icks and yucks out of the shrimp. Still, seeing Jason do it all by hand, the kids were all VERY impressed. :o)
So Jason’s favorite part about all the cleaning of the shrimp was actually NOT about the shrimp. It’s when he went to chop up the little fishies for our cats to try. Now, some of you may or may not know, that I am NOT big on seafood (yeah yeah, grew up in New England and I don’t eat seafood. shoot me now), and REALLY NOT big on prepping food with bones in it. I have gotten over it enough that I can finally prepare and even eat chicken on the bone, pork chops, etc, but I much prefer NOT including the bones. Gives me the willies BIG time. Also, I tend to have a REALLY strong stomach. Other people around me get sick, and I can handle the smell, clean up, all that gross stuff. Jason, on the other hand, can be pushed to throw up just by talking about it too much, or hearing someone gag. All the tough guy stuff about him, and that’s the thing that gets him. Poor guy.
What IS it that the prepping of the little fishies was Jason’s favorite part of the night?? Favorite ALMOST EVEN to the EATING of those wonderful shrimp he and Robbie caught??? It was MY reaction to his prepping of the fish. He cut one, I started to look away. Made the second cut, and I felt my entire throat clench up and my stomach working VERY quickly to try and turn itself inside out via the center of my throat. In the last 15 years we’ve known each other, Jason has NEVER seen me react to ANYTHING that made me gag, leave the room VERY fast, and STILL nearly throw up just at the thought of what I just saw. (even writing this story is making my throat ache…yuck.) So, I’m happy to have provided a great deal of laughter to my family this evening as they witnessed just what it WOULD take to make Mom gag BIG TIME. LOL.
I never ate the shrimp, but BOY where they gone FAST. Now the plan is to get really good at this whole shrimping thing as a family, go out as often as we can, and stock the freezer up BIG TIME.
YAY for good friends that taught us something new :o)!!!!!!
Saturday, August 29, 2009
I love the smart things our cats do
A few weeks ago, We finally bought a nice chess set for Jason. Not one of those $5 or $10 sets from Walmart or TOys R Us with the plastic pieces that are a serious choking hazard if small children come to visit. It isn’t super fancy either. It’s more “cool” then “nice”. When we bought this set, we found ourselves in a bit of a dilemma though. Our house layout is already pretty stuffed the brim, and this doesn’t include a place for me to leave my sewing stuff set up like in the last few places we’ve lived. So where in the world were we going to put out this chess set so it was always out and ready to play?? Hmmm…
We continued on to a couple of different stores, looking at what we could use. We temporarily settled on simple black square end table. I already had one cushy black footstool/box, so we bought another to use for the seating. It’s a little low for now, but worked out Great.
Then the cats took serious notice of the new set up.
“Humm, now let me think. What move should I make next?”
“Ah Ha! Gotcha now, my li’l Bandito.”
Thursday, July 9, 2009
Calling All Friends/Family/Readers...I need INFO.
Jason is almost certainly going to be getting out of the Marine Corps due to his Brain Injury as well as his PTSD and depression. Unless some miracle job comes up that he would be able to do to stay in....the process to go to the Medical Board will begin anytime between next month and October. Then, we play a waiting game. We certainly don't expect any expedition in the processing of his board, yet, it IS the Military's goal to get this process sped up to 90 days or less. This means, we could be out come mid-December. YIKES!!!!!
This also means WE get to PICK where we will move to. WHAT???!!! We get to decide? That hasn't happened in HOW many years????
SO here's what I need:
Suggestions on great towns to live in, with good-great schools, and housing that is under $150,000 --OR-- some one gracious enough to buy a house with the intent of letting us rent it, improve it, and maybe even buy it off you later. We want to stay in the Eastern half of the US. Much as I LOVE Colorado Springs, that's just alot further west then we feel would be best for our family.
Feel free to comment, or just email me any suggestions.
Thanks everyone :O).
Tuesday, June 30, 2009
To learn how you can snap pictures and capture videos with your wireless phone visit www.verizonwireless.com/picture.
Note: To play video messages sent to email, QuickTime® 6.5 or higher is required.
Saturday, June 27, 2009
hmmm, title name??? -- got nothin', just wanna write
Jason is too funny. Not news to anyone, just has to be said right NOW.
I finally upgraded my cell phone, and just LOVE the one I got. I'm not big on all the "stuff" phones do, but this one is touch screen, and I set it so it TELLS me, like a mini-robot announcer,t elling me who a text message is from. I can even have it read the text to me...too cool.
So here I was, happily reading and typing away, when I suddenly hear from over on the couch "a message from....Jason." Let me just say, that was a MUCH better feeling then to be walking thru the store and have the phone go off 4 times telling me it's a message from one of the kids. LOL. This one I jumped for.
Text, phone, letter, photo,... I'll take anything I can get. It's only been a week, so it's not like I'm any sort of point of desperation to hear his voice. I know exactly where he is, and basically what it is he's doing each day, but it's just good to hear his voice to actually KNOW how he is and how the day is going. Yesterday, He got the big ol' box of goodies and fun stuff we mailed. So his belly is happy, he's been enjoying "Heck, where the bad kids go" ( I thought he needed pure humor, and a book from the kids/teens wouldn't have language in it.) -- BOY is he enjoying it :o), along with butterfingers and peanut m&m's. The guys there with him love the puzzle books and goodies I sent for him to share. If I had more money I'd send SO much more. We're trying to bargain shop and get at least one more parcel off into the mail while he's gone.
Oh - yeah, he actually had his phone today because they let him get it to see the photos we sent of Robbie. She got her hair cut for Locks of Love, and looks SO adorable!! I've got to download the before and afters, and email myself all the ones I took with my phone of the step by step of it all.
Anyway, the kids have finally stopped talking (2 were still giggling when I started typing) so if I'm lucky I can finally get my tired old body off to bed.
Catch ya later, and have a great day.
Tuesday, June 23, 2009
time flies...just because
SO -- as much as I have to catch up, tonight is simple rundown for anyone I may have somehow over looked in our email (if you didn't get an email...I don't have your current email address.)
June 11th, was double insanity at our house. It was the first day the packers came to the house, AND it was the last day of school. WELCOME --completely excited spazzy kids that can't touch a thing in their rooms, spent too much time in the hot sun, and - DARN IT- "Have" to sit and watch movies or read the one book they each kept out. Rough life for them, I know. The rotten parents that we are, we didn't let the packers pack up the Rock Band/Guitar hero stuff either.
Just a little tip - if you ever are making a "short" move ---- for us a whoppin' 4 blocks up the street OUT of about to be torn down house IN to the brand spankin' new, one story house!! ----- then do NOT set up packing to be done and then the move to be made with a WEEKEND in the middle of it all. Talk about a test of ones sanity.
We made the move 8 days ago, and in the midst of the movers loading up our stuff, Jason got a call about one of the PTSD in-patient treatment facilities. They could take him as early as we could get him off. 4 days later, on Friday, off he went to Texas.
What does this mean??
For Jason.... no computer, cell phone, video games, or kids around to tickle, tease, or torment. He has a 'safe' environment to really "work" on the things that keep knocking him a good one without warning, and leave him worn out, mentally, physically, and spiritually. They will also be able to try to sort out his bed time meds to help him to NO longer sleep walk and act upon his dreams. Our overall goal...no more night time injuries for dear old dad.
For the kids... school is out, they all have new bedrooms, and have decided with dad gone, they get to turn the dial UP on their voices. They forget that dad doesn't have exclusive rights on getting headaches. /shrug/ what's a mom to do? The new house is great, and they will hopefully help get more of it unpacked while dad is gone, or at least keep up on the chores while MOM unpacks. Our neighborhood community center is really close to our house, and they just opened the family swimming pool. It is wide open at one end, and is like a "beach" in the sense that you walk in and it slowly gets deeper, till it's deep end at a whoppin' depth of 4 feet. The big kids are pretty bummed it's not deeper. When we can manage to find all the swimsuits, we plan to enjoy more of the summer days over there...deep or not, it's a POOL - ahhhhhh.
For ME..... unpacking, organizing, and catching up on sleep one of these days. Noone to run off to school. Only one appointment for each of us each week, so I try to schedule at least a couple kids at a time to consolidate driving.....'cause that's what I Doooo, I just drive :o). If I get lucky, I may even find all my sewing stuff and get back to work trying to sew up a storm and use up my many, many boxes of fabric and actually create things out of it all.
For the family... a fresh start. New house, summer months to chill and prepare to head up to visit Mark & Tammy again, and crossing fingers this treatment will be truly helpful for Jason so he can store his thoughts a little further back in his brain housing. Kind of like the garage, we don't want his unpleasant memories to be right there at the door, tumbling out when you open the door. Stacked at the back of the "garage" so you actually have to do a bit of work to get to them...that is the goal. I'd love for the family to get to enjoy more of our time, let go of some worry, and know that a different "normal" is A-Okay, so long as it means we're all together.
Better run for tonight, but that's what's up. Take Care All. :o)
Monday, April 27, 2009
Just showin’ off the kids
Sunday, April 19, 2009
I've not run away
There, I've said it. I admit that even with the truest of intentions to actually KEEP a blog, and to even do so on a regular basis...I currently am NOT successful in Executing this intention. I do have to say, in large part it's because I frankly haven't felt myself enough to want to bother to share the blah blah boring of daily life, and when there's something funny or interesting, I plain old forget to get online and share.
I've not completely vanished from being found online though. I'll admit it openly -- Facebook has SUCKED ME IN!!! I love being able to find friends (old and new), see their occasional updates, funny thoughts, new family news, and just knowing SO many people I grew up with "feel" close together even though we are scattered all over creation. In the military, you give up "roots", and thanks to places like Facebook (not as insane to deal with as MySpace...not a space for ME) I can hop online and FEEL like I'm surrounded by friends. Not friends established only thru reading about each others lives as with blogging. Real people I actually KNOW, or, well, knew at some point in my life. People I've had face to face conversations with, and laughed with, probably argued with, and have REALLY missed having around.
So, I love my blogs, and I know I need to update more often. The more I do, the more friends will stop by to see what's up. But until I do, I'll be popping into Facebook often throughout my days.
We are all doing well, and I DO have lots to update, so maybe I'll get smart and take time to do that soon. C-Ya :o)
Saturday, April 11, 2009
Jason’s Art
For those of you that don’t know, Jason posts alot of his artwork on diviantart.com. You can find ALL sorts of artwork…traditional to digital, calm to crazy. Since he’s posted so many pieces, I figured I’d add his newest link for anyone that wants to check it out. You can read the description he’s added under the photo, and if you want more info after that…feel free to ask. Just remember that Jason’s art is a way to express himself. Sometimes for fun, sometimes out of frustration. Take it for what you will.
http://crashjensen.deviantart.com/art/Family-Values-118912782
his whole gallery at Deviant Art can be found here:
Thursday, April 2, 2009
Tuesday, March 31, 2009
Things just never are boring around here
Part of dealing with PTSD, Depression, and a TBI, is that Jason takes a fair few different medicines. LONG before he started these meds, he struggled with pretty bad bouts of acid reflux. We’re not talking heartburn here people, we’re talking waking up in PAIN on the verge of throwing up (and even throwing up a little too often over the last year). I don’t know if it’s that the doc’s didn’t take him seriously, or that with the down side of always just getting whatever doctor is available, they don’t take enough time to really LOOK at past notes. Either way, other then pills to control heartburn, the only relief he has had over the years has been when he’s more careful of what he eats, WHEN he eats it, and what he’s drinking with his food.
SO then Jason starting taking these pretty heavy meds. Tend to be a bit rough on the system, and so when the heartburn kicked back in, more often, and then daily, Jase figured he’d just get back to the meds to combat it (hey – what’s one more pill, right?)
Well, while we were away at Mark & Tammys, she points out that Jase should be eating something when he takes his pills. He then started eating crackers every time he takes his meds. Problem was, after our return, Jason was getting these feelings like his chest was being crushed, or his heart was literally in someone’s hand being squeezed. - ewe, creepy- NOT good, I know. We talked with the doctor that prescribes the stuff for his overall treatment over at Deployment Health. He reminded us that one of the pills Jase takes to help stop him from dreaming is also used to lower blood pressure. Oh geeze louise. Okay, so we bought a home heart rate monitor. I’m supposed to watch with concern for LOW blood pressure readings, but I’ve got to say, I’m concerned because the pressure is in normal ranges, but his heart rate (when these pain moments are happening) is WAY up compared to his normal rate.
TOMORROW – tomorrow Jason will finally be going into the primary doctor and let them know ALL of what is going on, and heaven help us, I hope they do an EKG. He’s had the pains when doing his workout during his swim therapy, so that was a HUGE clue this isn’t an acid reflux or heartburn issue. Plus, his migraines are coming more often and MUCH worse since we came back from vacation.
I’ll do my best to remember to share the findings from the doctor tomorrow. Well, what ever it is he remembers anyway. It’s my last day of work, so that is where I’ll be. NOW do more people see why it is I need to be available pretty much ALL the time. Too bad there’s no military pay for wives staying home to help support, encourage, look after, care for, and pick up the slack from a Wounded Husband (or husbands for injured wives.)
I feel selfish to pray Jason will get “better”, but we do pray that the doctors will quickly and efficiently figure out what is causing this and be able to treat Jason so as to alleviate his pains. He’s got enough to struggle with.
Sunday, March 29, 2009
Jens’ Hair
Okay, due to the fact I’m usually the one taking pictures, AND the fact I just really don’t like being IN pictures, the only ones that have me after my hair cut are the ones from our visit to Mark & Tammy’s.
Jason grabbed the camera last night, and here’s the new do – which I have to say is FAR shorter then anything I’ve had EVER as an adult. It is also a HUGE improvement over the lack of style I had let it get to over the years. This is what happens when you only have your hair professionally cut 4 times in a 10 year time span, and TWO of those you didn’t even get close to what you asked for. SO, I had no style, too long, frumpy hair. Now, it’s too cute when I take time to do it well. This isn’t a great shot, but Andrea, here’s the “after”.Okay, I will stop hiding behind the camera, and attempt to get a clearer shot of the hair (and one of me NOT getting ready to head off to bed, so I could really not bother to “DO” anything. – shameful, I know. lol)
--------
THANK YOU FOR TAKING ME FOR THE GREAT HAIR CUT TAMMY!!! You SPOILED me rotten that day, and you will NEVER know how MUCH I love it. TO feel normal, and “cute” when I’m getting ready to head out – SO uplifting. A hair cut that worked WONDERS!! Thanks!!!!!!!!!!
Saturday, March 21, 2009
to thine hair Be Gone
out and I got a GREAT hair cut, first real "style" I've had in forever. Jason shaved off all his vacation 'growth' from his head AND face, and now the kids. I'd better hurry and get a family picture soon, before it all fades to summer scraggles.
A wonderful Get Away -- Cape Cod Mass
I've added the pictures. Click on the slideshow to enjoy.
Thanks again Mark & Tammy!!!
Thursday, March 19, 2009
Get out and Learn something NEW!!
Friday, February 13, 2009
I love it, but can't really get the hang of remembering to check in there. And it's a little weird to be able to read so much of what other people are saying to each other. Besides....would you all remember to BLOG more. Stories are FUN.
Speaking of stories, Steve's got lots to tell with all those pictures he put up on Facebook. I'm tellin' you, I missed out on a LOT of stuff out there that was going on around me. Granted, alot of times I wasn't THERE, but for nearly all these pictures I was (I took even more then those...MAN do I need to get to scanning either photos or the negatives.)
Anyway, I do have to say, I LOVE seeing so many people out there that I'd thought of often, and just didn't keep in touch with, all coming out all over the place. Yeah to technology letting us all reunite inspite of being spread out across the world.
Okay, get back to your facebook pages, you know you want to, just drop me a line once in a while. Kick my butt to blog or "write on your wall" . I'm working on forming a habit here people.
Call us crazy
Okay, completely aside from the fact at least one someone is this house IS pretty much Crazy (though, I think it's ALL of us)....
We just LOVE every chance we get to enjoy a
FRIDAY THE 13TH!!!!
Seriously, I've never understood why it is that people freak out over THIS date on THIS day of the week. We decided to make it a GOOD thing, fun fun fun and LOADS of silliness when we can. We actually wanted to get married on Friday the 13th of October, but Jason was in Bootcamp. Still, Zacky was our little Friday the 13th baby, so we got it in there somewhere.
Today was a tad less spazzy fun, mostly because everyone is worn out from a long few weeks. Fun was still had with Pizza and a fun movie, some drawing and music, and Robbie's off to a sleep over -- so we know who will NOT be sleeping tonight...the parents at the house full of 11 & 12 year old girls. Ha ha ha. but I'll be snoozin' VERY soon....ahh, with NO alarm set. GOTTA LOVE IT!
To one and all, HAPPY Friday the 13th!! This is my fill in for tomorrow because, well... I'm not real big on Valentines Day. In our house, we ALWAYS love each other, and show it and share it. SO, no cards, flowers, or anything to buy into the commercialism of it all. I have however, done the "good mom" thing, and explained to my boys that should they choose to get involved with a girl big on romantic gestures, or even little on it, they'd better REMEMBER her on Valentines Day. I will attempt to remember in the future, at the start of February's, to warn all lovely young ladies holding the hearts of my boys, that I was a TERRIBLE influence, and should they NOT get cards, flowers, (okay, the boys BETTER at LEAST give chocolates with this choc-a-holic family they've been raised in) so, should they not receive what they would normally "think" is appropriate, they can blame it ALL on ME!!! -- but should they love all the LITTLE stuff my kids do all year long, they'd better thank me and Jason :O)!! Hey, I'll take blame, but I beg for an ounce of credit too.
To all the love bitten mushy romantics out there....Happy Friday the 13th ,,,,he he he -- and I suppose a Happy Valentines Day to you all as well. Cause ya know, life would stink without the love and friendship you all offer up and share.
Thursday, February 5, 2009
I added a blog for me
Now maybe I can get back on track to trying to keep the family stuff updated. I'll try to do better and be back more often.
I don't mean to be a blogging slacker...
On the over all, we are all doing well. A couple of colds are trying to sneak their way into the family, but we're doing our best to eat well and fend them off. I'm actually taking time off to get some much needed catching up on nap time as well as just have something less on my plate to be committed to. I love the people I work with, they are SO supportive and encouraging. Hey, if you can't live near your own mom, the next best thing is to be working with a good group of women, nearly all of which have kids my age, and step into the "mom" roll naturally to be protective of my health and encouraging me to hold on to my sanity. :o)
Curtis turned 14 the end of December, and a few weeks ago, was ordained a Teacher. Yippie! The best thing aside from the event itself, is that Curtis' closest friend in the neighborhood and his little brother had come to check out our church that day. (Their mom had to work or she and their sister would've been with us too.)
Jason is LOVING his electric guitar, and it is a WONDERFUL way for him to relax and enjoy himself. The tempo of working with the metronome to keep his pace actually helps him to control his breathing and heart rate too. He's been working at learning notes and cords every day, and is taking to it quickly. Curtis just started guitar classes with the start of the new semester at school, so now that he's got his guitar at home, he and Dad will be taking their half hour of practice time together. :o). I think we've finally found a musical instrument that interests them BOTH.
Randy, Robbie, Craigan and Zacky are all doing well. Trying to get thru school, survive our nutty family, and enjoying every moment of awake time they can.
Tuesday, January 13, 2009
Another day done, and OH am I glad for 5 days off.
Last week was inventory at my work, so I worked 4 days instead of just 2. Not a big deal considering the kids were in school, so we didn't have the struggles of Jase trying to deal with ALL of them while I was gone...(I am sometimes like Jimminy Cricket, reminding Jase when to chill, when to 'engage' and break up the kid warfare, etc.) Only problem with working all those day... all the stuff I usually get accomplished while they're all away from the house, piled up instead. Eventually I'll get them all better and pitching in. AND that that doesn't refer to what to do with their dirty laundry, but to HELPING their poor, tired MOM.
I've now done my 2 days for THIS week, and am looking forward to catching up on all sorts of things.... laundry, sleeping, garage sorting, cleaning my room, napping, sewing, veggin' out in front of the t.v., getting rid of distractions in the kids rooms, maybe even making a new chore chart, and taking lazy time to ignore the chaos around me.
----------
*I would just like to note that those who are currently still very strongly effected by memories of combat experiences from a war zone, more specifically, those that have been in explosions, should NOT live within ear shot to the LIVE RANGE where they practice BLOWING STUFF UP! UGH. If you do, is there anyway to be placed on a warning list, so spouses or family members can be prepared for a long night?
As I sit here, for a second night in a row, I can hear the helicopters flying overhead for their night training. Please no live fire tonight, oh please.!!
For those of you that don't know, live fire is whey they shoot their guns, or, in this case, use real ammunition to blow stuff up. They have to train somewhere, and Jason used to be a SMAW gunner, which is an anti-tank assaultman. SO he's done his fair share of blowing the smithereens out of stuff.
Anywho, last night Jason'd been in bed for maybe 45 minutes, and he SHOULD have been sound asleep with the meds he's taking. I heard him jump out of bed and come running downstairs. "Did you hear that? How close was it?" I had been talking with Curtis, who had suddenly remembered he hadn't put his jeans in the dryer, so came down to rotate laundry at nearly 10pm. IN the end, I realized that they're doing night maneuvers, and the impact of the explosions had not only been heard, but shook the bedroom windows. The panic it triggered in Jase took a LONG time of me working and talking him down, getting him to relax, and hoping he'd go to sleep. (If you think I was even CONSIDERING trying to go to sleep with him not snoring up a storm to guarantee to me he was NOT getting up, your batty.) He couldn't relax enough to go back to sleep and decided he was REALLY hungry, and he was craving a grilled cheese sandwich. Clearly I refused to let HIM cook, so I got up, made him some grilled cheese, and watched some t.v. with him. Silly man absolutely insisted on a second sandwich, and made it himself because I told him I wasn't cleaning up after he get's sick from eating MORE this time of night. He said "my body's craving a grilled cheese, so clearly there's something in it I NEED. I gotta have another." Sure, whatever you say hun. At last, 2 sandwiches AND some nachos later, it was 12:30 and he suddenly realized I had to get to bed because I had to go to work in the morning. He told me he knew the mortars weren't insurgents trying to bomb US, and that the helicopters weren't flying towards any insurgents, they were just training, so he could sleep. Ahhhh, yesssssss.
This morning, the only thing he remembered was the first set of explosions he'd heard. The rest, foggy bits here and there sound familiar as I talk with him, but most of it...not a clue. He actually thought he was getting the flu or something when he woke up with a REALLY sick stomach. I told him what he'd ate - OH was he relieved, mostly. TO say the least, we are now BOTH eager for his doctor appointment on Friday. SOMEthing is going on that he's now progressed to getting up, feeling the need to eat, and actually carrying on conversations he doesn't have a clue about the next day. (thanks alot to the doctors that warned me eventually he might even get up and DRIVE in his sleep....NOW I'm feeling SO much better about the fact that we HAVE to keep all his stuff in specific places thanks to his memory troubles. The upside: I know where his keys are at all times. The downside: so does HE, even in his sleep. PRAY it doesn't get to that point, and I'll find the door chime/alarm and put it on the door, then we can ALL sleep better. :o)
------------------------------------------
Two good things for ME with this WONDERFUL assignment to WWBn. They have help for ME too. Whew. I love the help of my therapist, and that she reminds me that thanks to a good sense of humor, I'm still WAY better off then most of the people dealing with the Mountain of stress factors beyond my control. I love that I get to interact MUCH more closely with ALL the doctors that are involved with Jason's care, and tonight, I LOVE that I get to go to some of the training Jason gets to try and help ME too.
We started a mental relaxation class (I think it's got a cooler name, but it's late and I dont' remember it.) Lesson one: listen to music while closing your eyes, and focus on one PART of the music, the drum, flute, etc. Use this to center yourself and train your mind to block out all other thoughts. Very cool stuff! WAY hard for me to actually do though. THANK goodness she warned us it's totally normal and not to get mad or frustrated at ALL the thoughts that will work their way in. Just remind yourself to focus on the music. Jason had to "plant" his feet to keep from falling out of his chair...TBI side effect, remember, bad balance=falling over when eyes are closed. For me, I literally felt like inside my brain, between the brain and skull, something started twisting and swirling around my head over and over, making me super dizzy. That's when I realized I NEVER can stop my brain. DUH, that's why I've got sleeping pills. WHen I finally stop at night, my thoughts kick into overdrive. Granted, I rarely TAKE said sleeping pills due to Jason's newest upgrade in nightly activity, so - THIS is a good thing for me to try. Any reason to force myself to STOP for 5-10 minutes even, THAT is a good thing.
SO, hopefully I'll think to write more about the kids or something one of these days. Just that they're driving me bonkers and I don't want to complain, so I'm waiting for something funny, interesting, or wacky to write about. Like I said, I'm glad for 5 days off! I'll see what thoughts I can hold on to to share with you all.
Till then.... Have a lovely night.
--Take Care
Monday, January 5, 2009
The Lighter Side
Jason told me I should be sure to write down the funny or interesting things that he sometimes does in his sleep, so that we can be sure to have a record of the Lighter Side of dealing with combat PTSD and the stories we get to tell.
I've shared about Jason being asleep in the closet. A few weeks ago Jason was asleep with ALL the covers, on the floor, part way under his side of the bed. I walked in to see him there, the bed only with the fitted sheet on it, and me trying not to giggle as I attempted to figure out how to get him BACK into bed AND reclaim the covers. Hmmm. I DID consider getting additional covers for myself, and just leaving him to continue his peaceful sleep on the floor, because he was ontop of his body pillow, so it's not like he was suffering on a hard floor. (though, that doesn't phase him in the slightest.) I ended up untangling the covers from him, which led me to the conclusion that he MUST have just roooolllllled out of the bed and landed on his body pillow, preventing injury, or loud thud, and allowing him to continue to sleep the night away. I re-made the bed, and it only took about 15 minutes to get Jason to get up off the floor, NOT fall over, and climb back up into his spot on the bed. Whew -- .
Okay, so Last night we had a funny New thing happen. As I said at the end of yesterday's post, I heard Jason up and down, so I went to go see what was up. He was just hot, and tossing and turning. He was sound asleep moments later, so I figured I'd take a shower and let myself sleep in a little in the morning. I get out of the shower, open the bathroom door, and -- NO Jason in the bed. Hmmm??? He doesn't like to use the bathroom with the light on at night because it feels like a massive spotlight to his eyes, so I thought maybe he was in the kids bathroom. NOPE! Hmmm??? I'm thinking to myself - please oh please let this be funny not scary. I quickly got dressed, while checking closet, floor, and hall closet. As I was turning the hall light on to check that closet, I realized my cat was looking at me, then down the stairs, then back at me...like she was telling me where to go, NOT that she was interesting in going downstairs. THEN -- I heard it...Crunch! Chomp, chomp, chomp. CRUNCH!!! CHomp CHomp CHOMP. CRRRUUUNNNCH!! What the Heck?
As I walk down the stairs, "Jason?", and see him sitting, eyes shut, "staring" at the t.v., bag of chips in hand, speed eating them as he chomps LOUDLY away. I asked him what he was doing as I slowly sat on the love seat about an arms length away from him on the the other couch.
"I'm watchin' Camando, with Arnold Schwartzenager."
"Oh, uh, okay. Can I have the chips please?"
"Oh, ya want some. They're really gooooood." and he tilts the bag my direction. As I tried to take the bag from him, he put a death grip on the bottom. He was NOT going to let go.
"Jason, do you know where you are?"
"Pfffttt. Yeah! (with uh-duh kind of attitude) I'm in the chow hall."
"No dear, you're in the living room and we have to get up for work tomorrow."
"I'm At the dam! uh?! (the Haditha Dam in Iraq where he went "home" most of his deployment between patrols.) I wanted to take in one last movie before we head out tomorrow on patrol in Haqlanayah. Stupid 2 week patrols, they suck!"
I'm trying not to giggle at this point...and he's STILL chomping away at the chips between answers, AND is "looking" back and forth from me to "the movie" - still eyelids totally shut.
"Jason, do you know who I am?"
He scrunches up his face in confusion.
"Jason, you're going to get REALLY bad heartburn if you keep eating those chips before bed. Can I please have the bag?"
This seamed to trigger him out of it a little, as he handed me the bag, and started to mumble, "huh" to himself while "looking around" to "see" where he was.
"Jason, do you know who I am?"
"Uh, YEAHHH, yer my WIFE! (again, with UH DUH attitude.)"
"Do you know where you are?"
"In the LIV-INGGG ROOMMM."
"Jason?"
He suddenly blinked, opened his eyes - well, it was a squint, but they weren't closed and oblivious to what was NO going on. He asked, "Why are we down here?" then, before I could answer, he said, "Oh MAN I had the weirdest dream. I dreamt I was in the chow hall.."
"...at the dam."
"Yeah. And we were getting ready to go to, uhh..."
"...Haqlanayah?"
"Uh, yeah, and I was with Johnny and we were watch this movie..."
"Yeah, Commando."
"Hey?"
"Hunny, it was a dream, but you were down here eating chips and talking to me."
"OH GREAT, now I'm sleep eating. I'm gonna get FAT."
We chatted a bit longer while he worked on waking up enough to get himself up the stairs to bed. Nearly missed the bed when he went to sit on it, but I managed to get him all the way into bed. He had NO recollection of all of this having been anything OTHER then a dream until I told him the story this morning. He had the kids got QUITE a kick out of it, and I know not to jump to ANY conclusions about WHO ate all the chips. he he he.
(I will now openly admit - that moments like this, while very funny and you MUST take every opportunity you can to laugh when dealing with Jason's struggles - but these are the reasons I don't like to take a sleeping pill for ME, nor do I fall fully asleep at night. If you see the extra luggage under my eyes, you know why. I don't freak out, I just have to talk away the concern till I fall asleep, and be grateful for the simplicity in resolving where he was.)
SO - another busy day at work tomorrow. I managed to luck out, and today I just had to be the lone worker half the day -- Yeah for patient fabric store patrons, who willingly waited their turns at the cash register or cutting table as I ran back and forth while the managers finished up all they could to prepare for INVENTORY - dun du DAHHH. ugh. Once we got really busy, they stepped in quickly where needed, but OH are my legs feeling the burn from the workout I gave them today. I'm REALLY hoping that tomorrow I get to hide and do the inventory work, NOT the customer work.
Good Night Everyone :o).
Sunday, January 4, 2009
What to say?...
When I started this, I wanted it to be some sort of journal I could have printed up and save for my kids to have some memories, as well as a way to encourage myself to find positive things to dwell on and savor for those days that aren't quite as easy to get thru. I absolutely LOVE to hop around and read the blogs being kept by friends I've made thru the years, as well as those kept by the wonderful people I spent my teenage years with.
So I ask...how many of you face the computer screen when you can FINALLY get to it, and totally FORGET absolutely Every Single thought you had that you just couldn't wait to write about to hold on to, or those funny things you just HAD to share. ARGE!! In my frustration with my struggle to think clearly and remember things lately (side effect of having to think overtime for all those that are not able or WILLING to think for themselves) I decided to blog-hop and hopefully get inspired.
Ya know what I found? Having time off for winter break has apparently kept nearly EVERYONE away from their computers. Yeah, for everyone, but a bummer when I'm looking for something interesting. There's only so much Zuma or Peggle or solitaire one person can play before feeling like you yourself are going to start becoming a video game.
-----
Okay, 2 kid things to mark before I forget. First, Zacky made it thru his very first New Years. All the kids stayed up and we watched movies, played games, ate junk food, drew, (I didn't ... I crochet when they all draw.) and had a good time till about half past 11. That's when the kids chose the countdown channel that seemed the most fun, and the last 30 minutes FLEW by. At about 12:05, we started to say goodnight, and Jason found this cool special on the Blue Man Group. We ALL got excited, resumed our spots on the couches and floor, and enjoyed that till 1am. By this point, Craigan, Zacky, and I were ALL on the verge of becoming walking zombies, so OFF to bed we went. I think everyone else went then too, but honestly, don't remember and dont' much care. Everyone was safely in bed snoozin' when I woke up, and Zacky was thrilled to have been able to tough it out with the big kids!
Secondly, Robbie is becoming quite the runner. The other day we went exploring not too far from our house. Jason had noticed a spot where LOTS of runners and mountain bikers would turn off the main road, and we saw a sign for something or other Nature Trail and something. Okay, let's check it out. We explored paved trails as well as unpaved ones that wove in and out of the woods, along the river, AND conveniently right up to the back end of Craigan's school. This meant that we don't have to drive around to the start of the path if we don't want to. We all ran little races in spurts throughout our excursion. Craigan and I raced, and he started to giggle too much to keep running. Hey, he was beating me, but I guess it was funny that I wouldn't stop before HE gave up.
Anyway, so Jason and I were both just feeling crummy today, and even though it's Sunday, I knew he'd perk up if he went for a run. He took Robbie and Randy with him, and off they went for a 4 mile (give or take) run along the trails and pathways we'd discovered. Normally, Jason has to walk quite a bit here and there to give the kids a breather when he takes them running with him. Robbie actually ran the ENTIRE thing, and Jase let HER set the pace for coming home. Now, I think it was the thrill of the new running sneakers I bought her the other day JUST to wear running with dad, but she set a pretty fast pace home, and maintained it the entire last mile and a half! Randy was bushed, Jason impressed, and Robbie quickly zoned out sitting on the couch after cooling off. The kids want to go more often, and I'm looking forward to this week getting over (working every day due to inventory -- sounds thrilling huh?) .. so I can get out there with Jason and at least walk for an hour. I'm inspired by Sarah and Belinda to get out and run, but in an effort to not break or damage something, I'll start with regular walks I think.
Anyway, inspite having taken his sleeping pills, I can hear Jason wandering back and forth in our room. Hmm, maybe the change in sleeping pills wasn't the best change?! Better go see what's up and get myself into bed. Tomorrow, back to a normal routine that includes waking up LONG before 10am.
I hope you all had a wonderful winter break, and I will somehow figure out how to remember my interesting stuff to share more often.
